Aaah, strong coffee

I love strong (expensive) coffee with a full body and great taste. My boss didn’t like this coffee, it was too “earthy” for him, so he gave it to me to try out. I loved it! I always pay a little more for coffee and find it is worth it. This coffee is local to Milwaukee, so I also like buying local products when I can. I don’t buy Alterra too often, but maybe I will more now that I was so impressed with my yummy cup this morning.

Alterra coffee

I had my coffee with a great bowl of stovetop oats. I just used Quaker Oats with water and a half of a banana. I topped it with pomegranate arils, chia seeds and almonds. This was much better at filling me up than dry cereal has been the last couple of days!

oatmeal with arils and chia seeds

Snack at work was a few Newman’s Own Organics dried apples.

Lunch was a small spinach salad with tomatoes, cucumbers and lots of feta cheese. I accidentally dumped a little too much on there this morning! I had a Peach Chobani yogurt, a cranberry salad and the rest of the Espresso Dark Chocolate from Newman’s Own Organics.

lunch

I must have been craving apples today because my afternoon snack was a fresh Jazz apple.

Dinner was another quickie. I had some white cheesy noodles. As my mom said on the phone, “that isn’t healthy!” I told Craig that now that I write a healthy living blog and try to eat healthy about 85-90% of the time, I still like my sweets and a few indulgent meals, like cheesy noodles, once in a while. As long as it’s in moderation, it doesn’t matter!

Then I raced to the YMCA to meet my sister-in-law for her free trial sign up. We had a good time together–I showed her around the facility and then demonstrated machines for her. She tried out lots of things tonight. Too bad she said she would never go to the gym alone. I actually don’t mind both ways, but probably am more motivated to stay focused on my workout when I go alone. I also like listening to my iPod and reading magazines while I workout. Classes are great for combining the social and fitness aspects. Do you have a preference?

Time to read the Cooking Light and Bon Appetit magazines I picked up at the library today. Night!

3 responses to “Aaah, strong coffee

  1. I’ve been wondering, does your hubby eat the same stuff you do? I find it helps when the spouse is on the same page.

    • No, unfortunately, he rarely does. I do agree with you though, it would be easier to make healthy meals together (and more fun). He is trying to eat healthier, but does not like most vegetables and I love them. I get certain cravings for meals and then have to eat that particular food–he is sort of the same way! I think most of the things we eat together are unhealthy–meals out, pizza at home or those cheesy noodles. Eating different things for dinner is weird, I know, but it sort of works for us. I just have to watch how much fresh food I buy when I am the only one who eats it.

  2. I love that greek dressing from Trader Joe’s, it’s awesome :)

    Jen

Leave a Reply

