Bad day turned good

For various reasons, I didn’t have the best day. :( I won’t go into details because after about 4:30 p.m., my bad day turned good.

I was finished eating dinner, sitting with Craig at the table and went on my iPod touch to see who won fANNEtasticfood‘s Stonyfield yogurt giveaway and I saw my name announced as the winner! I thought I was imagining things. I couldn’t believe it and yelled with joy. I cannot wait to get my coupons and try all of those yogurts! Yogurt has been my favorite food since I was about 6. As a kid, I used to beg my parents for it and say “I want yogurt”–I know, I am a weird person. I eat it every day and find it helps my tummy troubles a lot. Thanks Anne and Stonyfield for the awesome giveaway. :) You truly made my day.

Eating a healthy, yummy dinner and going to yoga with Craig also made my evening excellent.

Since I have been paying attention to the fact that I need to be more creative in the kitchen and use recipes, I did precisely that tonight. Also, it helped that I literally had a dream about this recipe last night and I was eating it and saying how yummy it was. When I woke up, I thought, “I must make that for dinner tonight.” Of course, this dream was triggered by my reading Cooking Light magazine before bed last night and my focus on how good the recipe looked. ;)

So, to fulfill my dream, I stopped by a grocery store on the way home and picked up the ingredients.

recipe ingredients

IMG_2525

Cooking Light October 2010

I made Brie, Apple and Arugula Quesadillas from the October 2010 issue of Cooking Light magazine.

Brie, Apple and Arugula Quesadilla

It was a super easy recipe to prepare and make, which was what I needed so it could settle in my tummy and I could get to yoga on time.

Brie, Apple and Arugula Quesadilla

Brie, Apple and Arugula Quesadilla

It was light and tasty! I think I may make another one tonight and pack it for lunch tomorrow.

I indulged by eating a half of a Breyer’s ice cream sandwich.
Breyer's ice cream bar

Craig and I went to yoga at the YMCA tonight. We warmed up on the elliptical a little and then got settled on our mats in the mini-gym. I really like the teacher on Thursday nights. He has a cool, calming voice, explains things well and I like the poses he has us do. Craig agreed. My husband is more of a Yogi than me, which is surprising to some people. He meditates every day, 40 minutes in the AM and 40 in the PM. Yoga was exactly what I needed after some tense moments throughout the day.

Recap of breakfast and lunch:

Breakfast was boring Honey Nut Cheerios and excellent Alterra coffee

cheerios and coffee

Lunch was a quinoa dish, a blueberry Chobani yogurt and the baby carrots and the Newman’s Own Organic graham cookies were my dessert (they were super yummy). The banana & pretzels were my morning snacks. The pretzels were Newman’s Own Organics and weren’t my favorite.

IMG_2517

Aaah, tomorrow is Friday! I may leave work a little early so I can hit the grocery store again. Meteorologists are predicting our first snowstorm of the season for Friday night into Saturday. Boo!

7 responses to “Bad day turned good

  1. Hey! That recipe, I found that in Cooking Light and used it in October! I made it for my friends. Yes it is super yummy! It was very excellent with my CSA arugula when I had it earlier in the year. I need to get some more apples and use up my brie on it. Make sure you use the real brie. I couldn’t find it one time and used the Babybel mini bries. Not so good. If you’re short on arugula, it is good with just the cheese, mustard mix and apples too.

    Yogurt helps me with a myriad of problems, so I am hoping I win some coupons myself. ;)

    • That is so weird! We are having lots of coincidences occur between us lately.

      How do you like having a CSA? I have thought about doing that sometime and maybe getting a half share.

      I did find real brie, but all Pick N’ Save had was the herbed. The flavor was nice. I know what you mean about the Babybel mini bries–they aren’t as good.

      • I loved the CSA! Ours is just north of where we live, so I know the gas used to deliver it is minimal as well. In addition, my health insurance covered $100 of my payment for this past year and next year they will cover $200. Sure there were some odd veggies I couldn’t do anything with, but for the most part, we found something to do with everything we got. I have this great swiss chard recipe now. Ask around to friends or co-workers and get their recommendation on a CSA before you jump in. You want to make sure they are going to deliver stuff you want. Also, go with a smaller share to start to see if you want to do it. I divided a half share with a friend, but I think next year we’ll take a half share on our own, as we really did like much of what we got and at times I wished I wasn’t sharing with the other person.

  2. Sorry your day started bad, but I’m glad it ended on a good note!

    Love the quesadilla!! Delicous!

    Jen

  3. Thanks Jen! Yeah, I was so happy the day turned around too.

  4. Oh, by the way, one of my cousins is a yoga instructor in Maui. Here’s a link to her yoga site. She has a video for doing yoga in 20 minutes. Thought you might like that if you can’t get to a yoga class. Twenty Minute Vinyasa Flow Part 1

    Twenty Minute Vinyasa Flow Part 2

Leave a Reply

