Dinner at one of my favorite restaurants

I am behind on blog posts so I will recap yesterday.

It snowed overnight, so I shoveled a bit before heading to Body Pump at the YMCA with Angie.

snowy backyard

I had coffee, cheerios and half of a Balance Almond Brownie bar before class.

Balance Almond Brownie bar

I ate the other half on my way home from the gym. I liked this bar a lot.

Body Pump was so-so. I didn’t love the instructor we had, especially because both Angie and I are somewhat new at Body Pump and she didn’t give as good of instructions as other teachers. I still need better direction in order to do the poses correctly. After class, I walked the indoor track to cool down and move my legs (which hurt a little today).

I was craving a big bowl of oatmeal when I got home from the gym so I made stovetop oats with a banana, flax seeds and frozen berries mixed in at the end. I topped it with the rest of the pomegranate arils.

oatmeal and coffee

oatmeal with berries and pomegranate arils

Lunch was a small portion of the European baguette with ham, muenster cheese, arugula and a tomato.

lunch

I didn’t want to eat too much because I knew I would be meeting a friend for dinner at 5.

I ran some errands and got a few good deals, which always makes me happy and then I met my best friend from middle and high school, Danielle, at Cafe Manna.

Sorry for these dark and fuzzy pics, I didn’t want to use a flash in the restaurant and I had to use my little Canon point and shoot.

Cafe Manna is one of the first 100% vegetarian restaurants in Southeast Wisconsin. It is also one of my favorite restaurants.

Cafe Manna

Danielle
Danielle at Cafe Manna

Here is my Limonade and the pita chips/hummus appetizer. Limonade is:

A nutritious lemonade-style drink made with fresh limes, kale, swiss chard, pear, agave nectar and purified water. This refreshing drink contains live enzymes and a healthy supply of vitamins and minerals for natural energy.

I drink it every time I go there. So good!

Limonade and pita chips with dip

I had the delicious Roasted Vegetable Crustada–a flaky pastry shell filled with an array of seasonal roasted vegetables in a silky herbed sauce. Topped with crispy onions and delicately resting on a roasted red pepper coulis.

The roasted vegetables were eggplant, red peppers, broccoli, zucchini, etc.

I want to try to recreate this at home.

cafe manna dish

Here is a nice, well lit photo that I took when I had the rest of the dish for leftovers today.

Roasted Vegetable Crustada Cafe Manna

I am never disappointed when I eat there. They always have seasonal dishes that are so fresh tasting.

The best part was that Danielle had a Groupon coupon, so our meal was super cheap!

After a nice dinner, we hit the mall to shop. I got a sweater, a long sleeve shirt and a gift card for my work secret santa person. When trying on clothes, my friend and I both noticed that my working out has paid off. My waist has definitely gotten more definition over the last few months. Nice to see that my hard work is worth it!

It was late by the time I got home, so instead of blogging, Craig and I played Wii Tetris. My game was clearly off because I lost a whole bunch of times. :(

IMG_0010

Onto my Sunday post now!

2 responses to “Dinner at one of my favorite restaurants

  1. That restaurant looks neat! I definitely plan on checking it out :)

Leave a Reply

