Holiday pot luck & my first Zumba class

Today’s breakfast is pictured here.

Lunch was a holiday pot luck party, so there is no picture of my plate. I ate little portions of lots of things. I also had lots of fruit desserts and surprisingly, wasn’t craving chocolate at all today!

I brought something to the potluck that I knew I would eat–fresh veggies. Cucumbers, grape tomatoes and baby carrots. Everyone loved the Santa plate I brought too.

Santa plate and veggies

After a food coma at work, I knew I needed something peppy to add to my afternoon. I looked a the YMCA schedule and decided to try Zumba for the first time tonight.

It was a lot of fun. I was a little nervous, as I told my friend, who is a Zumba teacher, I am not so coordinated. The class was packed and the women in my class seemed to love Zumba (they even wear shirts that say I heart Zumba, etc.) I loved the first song and the moves best–Enrique Iglesias’s “Baby I Like It” and the Indian inspired dance. There were some other songs that I couldn’t follow the moves with as well. I think it would take me about 6 or 7 classes to get the dances down pat. At one point in the class, I said to myself, “I feel like I am at a middle school dance trying to dance naughty to get noticed.” Maybe it’s just me, but the moves reminded me of that time of my life!

To learn the steps, I watched people in front of me because I don’t do well with watching teachers who are facing the class. I am sure I will try it again. I really do like Boot Camp, Body Pump or Yoga better, but Zumba will be fun to change up my workout once in a while.

I arrived home from the Y with tons of energy. Craig laughed at how chatty I was.

I made a nice red quinoa dish with feta cheese, tomatoes, roasted red peppers and chickpeas. I mixed it with some Penzey’s spices, balsamic vinegar and olive oil. Oh and a glass of red wine was perfect with it!

red quinoa and red wine

Now it’s time to relax and read with my adorable Karma sleeping by my side.

One response to “Holiday pot luck & my first Zumba class

  1. LOL! Your life sounds so much like mine! I go to zumba classes on Wednesday nights and Saturday mornings!

Leave a Reply

