Eating carrots instead of chocolate…

On my lunch break today, I was eating baby carrots like they were chocolate. The crunching noise and feeling somehow helped me relieve my stress. The vet called me back this morning with more bad news. In the last few days, she wasn’t able to find anything medically that relates to Karma’s symptoms. Basically, there is no diagnosis and treatment for his condition. We will put him on steroids in two days, but she doesn’t have much hope that that treatment will do much for him. Of course, I got this news at work and I instantly wanted to run and hide. I called Craig with the bad news and that was equally as difficult as getting it from the doctor on the phone.

Breakfast was Apple Cinnamon cheerios and coffee with Silk Nog added. I am trying to use the stuff up before it expires.

apple cinnamon cheerios and coffee

I had a second cup of coffee with my snack mid-morning. Snack was a few almonds and an Organic Strawberry fruit strip from Target.

strawberry fruit strip, almonds, coffee

Lunch was hard for me to get down (except for the carrots), but I had the red quinoa dish I made for dinner last night, lots of carrots and Fage yogurt.

Lunch

It was my first time trying Fage yogurt and it was pretty good. Not as creamy as Stonyfield’s Oikos and not as thick as Chobani. Maybe it was somewhere in the middle?

Fage yogurt with honey

I found it on sale at Target and thought I would try a new kind of yogurt to review on here (the company didn’t provide me with the yogurt, I purchased it myself). The honey version had a lot of sugar, 29 grams, so maybe I will try plain next time.

Fage yogurt with honey

Dinner tonight was a pinto bean burrito with shredded cheese, tomatoes, salsa and hot sauce.

bean burrito

It feels good to be relaxing for the evening after shoveling the latest snowfall and doing a little bit of Jillian’s Shred it with Weights DVD from the library. I was supposed to meet a friend at the Y for yoga, but the roads were bad at the time we were going to go, so we canceled.

Jillian Shred-It with Weights

Jillian Shred-It

The Jillian DVD was ok. I wasn’t feeling it tonight. I didn’t do my homework (for once) and actually research the video before getting it from the library. Therefore, I didn’t know what to expect. You don’t need a kettle bell, but I think the moves would have been easier with one. I don’t have one, so I used a dumbbell. One of the demonstrators in the video also used a dumbbell, but the moves still would have been easier with the kettle bell.

While I was shoveling tonight, Karma was at the window watching me with his head turned to the side. He always looks like he is saying, “what are you doing out there with that white stuff mama?”

Karma and I

I wish I could say, “yay, one more day of work and then it’s the weekend.” It is for most people, but I have a big holiday program at work the next couple of days. The weekend is going to fly by. Work on Saturday and then a Christmas get together with my friends on Sunday.

Night!

One response to “Eating carrots instead of chocolate…

  1. I wasn’t a huge fan of the Fage with Honey, but Fage with Cherries…OMG amazing!

    Jen

Leave a Reply

