Change of plans

Most of the state of Wisconsin was hit with blizzard like conditions last night and into this morning. In the Milwaukee area, we woke to find a trace of snow, but I heard it was very icy outside. I e-mailed my friends, wondering if we would still meet for brunch. Even though I hadn’t heard from the girls, I decided to make pancakes for Craig and I. I had a tiny bit of pancake mix left and I mixed it with water, but I think I used too much as it got watered down and definitely did not cook up correctly.

What’s a girl to do when she’s out of pancake mix but promises her husband pancakes as a Sunday morning treat? Make them from scratch! I am ashamed to say I have never made pancakes from scratch. I looked up a recipe and replaced the all-purpose flour with whole wheat. They turned out great! I probably will never use pancake mix again!

whole wheat pancakes with banana and walnuts

banana and walnut topped pancakes

Finally, I heard that brunch had been called off. All but two of the girls live far away from the restaurant we were going to meet at. Because it was my only day off this weekend, I was kind of happy to be able to stay home instead and relax.

I was hungry again around 11:30 and decided to try Whole Soy & Co.’s Strawberry yogurt. They sent me coupons to sample two flavors after I didn’t love Stonyfield’s taste.

Whole Soy & Co.

Whole Soy & Co. Strawberry Soy Yogurt

I think Whole Soy & Co. soy yogurt has a much better flavor than Stonyfield’s. I didn’t get that gross taste in my mouth. It was creamy and had a similar texture to Stonyfield’s. I had Craig try it too and he could tell it was different than dairy yogurt, but he didn’t seem to mind the taste.

Here are the nutrition facts:

Whole Soy yogurt nutrition

Whole Soy yogurt nutrition

While the boys all napped (Craig and the cats), I painted my nails with Essie’s Angora Cardi. I wanted this color a year ago and couldn’t find it anywhere. I found it at Ulta last week and was ecstatic, because I thought it had been a seasonal color. I like these mauvy purples for winter. I think they compliment my pale skin nicely. ;)

Essie Angora Cardi

Angora Cardi Essie nail polish

Essie Angora Cardi nail polish

Essie Angora Cardi nail polish on hands

I swore I wasn’t going to nap, but the cold air in the house made me snuggle under a blanket and fall asleep on the couch for about an hour. After waking up, I was hungry for lunch so I made a Veggie Masala burger from Trader Joe’s.

Veggie masala burger

Dessert was two Newman’s Own Organics Chocolate Creme cookies.

Newman-O's chocolate creme cookies

I think the streets are clear from ice now and it’s time to hit the YMCA. You know you miss the gym when you dream about going there. I had all sorts of weird dreams last night, including talking to my mom about my great grandparents coming from Austria while I was biking down these hilly streets in winter, hoping I wouldn’t fall. Before bed, I had found who I think was my great grandpa coming through Ellis Island and that he lived in Lam, Austria, (well, what was Hungary at the time). I still need to look into this some more because his name is very common, but Ellis Island asks for the birth year and his resulted in the immigrant coming to Milwaukee. I like having all of these mysteries to solve and/or research more.

Hope you are enjoying your Sunday! I am excited, but also sad, for the Amazing Race final tonight! Maybe it will be an all female team that wins.

3 responses to “Change of plans

  1. I made my first ever from scratch pancakes about a year ago and I’ll never go back to store bought mix again! I usually blend 1/2 whole wheat flour, 1/2 regular flour and then use cinnamon applesauce instead of oil.

    Oh and I am loving that nailpolish, it’s so pretty!

    Jen

  2. Love those Newman Os cookies. And isn’t it amazing how easy some thigns are from scratch. I love doing pancakes from scratch bec they are easy and so much cheaper that way.

    • Yeah, I have found all of Newman’s products to be great, especially the cookies!

      I’ll probably never go back to boxed pancake mix. It’s so easy to whip up ones from scratch and that way, I know what’s going in them too. The wheat flour was a lot better than I expected. Even my picky husband didn’t mind!

Leave a Reply

