My second try at Zumba

Today was much happier than yesterday. I only cried once when my dad wrote me an e-mail that said he still is in the habit of turning on the light for Garfield at night. :(

I tried Zumba for the second time tonight. It was a good class again. I think I actually did worse this time trying to keep up with the steps. I didn’t have anyone in front of me directly who was coordinated that I could follow. Next time, I won’t be late and forced to go into the corner of the gym. While doing Zumba, I was thinking to myself, “this is my fun workout of the week.” Yoga is my calming workout, body pump is strengthening and challenging and so is boot camp. I spoke to an older lady next to me at one point and she said to me in her thick foreign accent, “I like this class. It is fun. I could be on the treadmill for an hour and time goes so slowly. With this, time goes by so quickly and it’s fun.” She must have read my mind. I agreed completely.

Breakfast was Kashi Autumn Wheat. I figure it’s “almost” winter (next week is when the season technically starts, even though it’s freezing cold where I live) and I should be eating up anything labeled autumn!

Autumn Wheat and coffee

My morning snack was half of a sprite bottle and almond poppy seed bread baked by my mama. I only drink soda occasionally. Sometimes when my stomach is bugging me, I crave a sprite.

almond poppyseed bread, sprite

Lunch was a NuttZo and strawberry jelly sandwich on wheat, Oikos Stonyfield plain yogurt that I mixed with sliced almonds and local honey from Oconomowoc. I am on an almond kick lately. I also had some homemade Christmas cookies for dessert. One was a mint and chocolate kind my mom made for us and then my peanut butter dough balls.

Lunch on 12-15-10

Craig made yummy Trader Joe’s 4 Formaggi pizza for dinner and it was ready when I got home from Zumba, so that was a nice surprise. I had two slices and made some brussel sprouts spiced with three different Penzey’s spices.

brussel sprouts, TJ's pizza, penzey's spices

Dessert was a dough ball, of course!

dough ball

This is how our cats look in the morning, waiting for their “food food.” We trained them to know the word food and anytime we say something that even sounds like it, they freak out. They swirl around our feet in the morning until Craig or I announce “food food” and they run to their food bowls.

cats in AM

For once I am not blogging an hour before my bedtime and I actually have more time tonight to relax and read. My mom gave me a whole bunch of magazines yesterday, so I am going to chill out with those on the couch.

One response to “My second try at Zumba

  1. I’ve been hearing so much about Zumba, I need to try it one day!!!

    Jen

Leave a Reply

