Back to work

I had a very good Monday back at work. Didn’t come back to too much and got a lot done.

Breakfast today was stove top oats mixed with flax seeds. I topped it with Justin’s Chocolate Hazelnut butter. I decided to try a packet of this vs. buying Nutella. I really liked Justin’s flavor (less sweet than Nutella, which is a good thing in my book) and the texture was nice (more gritty than Nutella).

stovetop oats with Justin's Chocolate Hazelnut Butter

Justin's Chocolate Hazelnut Butter

I made myself another cup of coffee at work and snacked on some barbecue flavored Soy Crisps from Newman’s Own Organics.

Barbecue Soy Crisps and coffee

I ate lunch really late because of a meeting. My breakfast and snack allowed me to hold off a little on my lunch time.

lunch 1-3-11

Lunch was tofu and veggies leftovers, two clementines, a Stonyfield Cherry Vanilla yogurt and two chocolate chip cookies. Through blogging, I realize I have a big appetite for lunch and vary my lunches a little more than my dinners with the different food groups. I eat more calories during lunch than any other meal. Does anyone else eat this much for lunch on a regular basis?

After work, I went to Bodyblast Boot Camp at the YMCA and we had a new teacher. He had some good stations set up. My favorite was the punching bag and the kettle bells. Unlike other boot camps, we got to choose the stations we wanted to go to and there were about 8-10 set up. I liked having the choice.

Dinner was a whole wheat tortilla with pinto beans, spinach leaves, tomatoes, salsa, Frank’s Red Hot, and a bit of colby jack cheese.

whole wheat tortilla, spinach, pinto beans, tomato, cheese

I had a banana with the rest of Justin’s for dessert (and an unpictured cookie).

banana and Justin's

I need to try to make some of this with the food processor! The ingredients are pretty simple.

ingredients in Justin's chocolate hazelnut butter

And to end, I had to share this somewhat fuzzy, but hilarious picture of Tanzi squishing Karma last night.

cats

Hope you had a good first Monday of the new year!

3 responses to “Back to work

  1. Love the photo of your cats, so cute!!

  2. I think I’ve heard that a big breakfast, medium lunch and small dinner(supper) is the way to go. I’ve also heard a big lunch is better than a big dinner. Also, I’ve heard/read that snacking throughout the day with healthy snacks is a good way to balance your blood sugar and not have the ups and downs from having it peak and fall. I’ve started eating whole wheat tortillas with beans, etc. And tried Frank’s Red Hot. All very good and makes for easy quick meals.

    Finally tried Greek yogurt, both Chobani and Oikos, and I really wasn’t too terribly excited about either of them. But I was glad I got to try them both to see what it was about.

  3. Yay for good Mondays! LOL at Tanzi and KArma – they look siamese! (sp)

Leave a Reply

