From tired to energetic

The end of the week laziness set in last night, so I didn’t blog or make it to the gym. I just laid on the couch. I swear that my body shuts down on Friday nights and it’s impossible for me to do anything. Guess the week wore me out more than I thought it did.

I made up for the Friday night case of the lazies by having tons of energy today. I got up around 8, ate this breakfast:

English muffin with strawberry jelly and a Whole Soy & Co. Cherry yogurt, plus coffee of course.

english muffin with strawberry jelly, yogurt, coffee

Whole Soy & Co. Cherry yogurt

I didn’t love this cherry flavor. I think I got strawberry last time and it was better. This tasted more soy like. I like my dairy yogurt I guess and if I was vegan or had lactose intolerance, I would choose soy yogurt over having no yogurt at all.

I went to the Y and hit the 8:45 yoga class. It was mostly flow, with some pretty difficult poses thrown in. It’s funny how much more difficult it is for me to do yoga in the morning vs. at night. My hips hurt and don’t feel warmed up at all in the morning. Some of the difficult poses really struck my hip area with pain.

After an hour of yoga, I still had tons of energy, so I hit the elliptical for 10 minutes, the rowing machine for a bit and then did a full circuit of weights.

I got home and still had more energy than I knew what to do with. Threw in some laundry, showered and ate lunch, which was a Morningstar black bean veggie burger, Irish cheese, tomato on an Arnold’s Thin. I also had a cup of cinnamon applesauce.

applesauce and Morningstar black bean burger on arnold's thin

Dessert was Newman’s Own Organics dark chocolate with some all natural peanut butter chips.

Newman's Own Organics dark chocolate and pb chips

Then, I went to about 6 stores in an hour and fifteen minutes. They were all quick trips. I picked up a silicone swim cap so I can hit the pool soon and protect my hair.

I went to Sears to check out the Golla camera bag I want to get before our trip to Florida. I had only seen it online, so I wanted to check it out in person.

Golla-Lynne-Medium-Camcorder_Camera-Bag-in-Brown

I liked it a lot–it’s stylish, roomy, and looks like it will be comfortable to carry. I took pictures of how the bag secures with a strap on the side and a Sears worker came over kind of looking at me suspiciously.

Golla camera bag

I explained to the worker that I had been researching the bag online this morning and talking to my husband about the different features. I was explaining how the bag secures magnetically in front and with the side strap, but my husband didn’t think that sounded very secure. He was concerned someone could just come along and open it up when I wasn’t looking. The Sears worker didn’t seem to like the bag I chose and showed me a very standard DSLR case. I explained that I liked the one I chose because it didn’t look like a camera bag and he said “no, it looks more like a lunch pail.” I argued back that it looked more like a purse and didn’t scream “DSLR camera bag” or tourist. It cracked me up that he used the word “pail” and gave my husband a good laugh when I got home and told him about it! I guess my opinion is sure to be a little different than that of a 50 something year old man!

Anyone have a camera case that is stylish and cute to recommend? I am about 90% sure I will go with the Golla, but then I feel bad if it looks to feminine for my husband to carry. I take all of the pictures on our trips, but he often carries the camera because I deal with a purse. The nice thing about the Golla is that it has numerous pockets and areas for me to carry purse items in, so I may not even need a big purse.

And as I wrote this post, I was snacking on some Stonyfield blueberry yogurt with pom arils.

Stonyfield Blueberry yogurt and pom arils

Time to hit the grocery store with Craig for a big shopping trip. We need lots of food!

Quick meal recap from Friday, January 7, 2011.

Breakfast was stovetop oats with ground flax seeds, half of a banana and pomegranate arils. It was kind of blah, but filled me up.

coffee and oats with pom arils

I treated myself to my free lunch at work and got a grilled cheese with avocado, bacon and tomatoes. I had a cup of fruit on the side.

lunch on 1-7-11. Fruit and gourmet grilled cheese

Dinner (no picture)–I had a tortilla with pinto beans, some cheese, salsa and Frank’s Red Hot.

Hope your Saturday has been fabulous! After the grocery store, I want to make a nice dinner for Craig and I and bake some more chocolate chip cookies.

5 responses to “From tired to energetic

  1. What a great food day! Those pom seeds look great!

  2. I am the opposite–I feel rejuvanated during the wknd and
    have my best workouts then. I can’t do morning workouts though,
    like you said, my body feels tight and not warmed up at all. No
    suggestions for a camera bag but I like that one, it’s
    cute!

    • I totally have my best workouts on the weekend too. I think the extra sleep helps a lot. On Friday nights though, I just crash after the long weeks. I guess this has been happening more in the winter. When it’s sunny out again, I’ll want to go for a walk or ride my bike outside after work and won’t be crashing on the couch!

      I agree–I am not a morning workout person. Mid-morning is ok, but yoga was tough at 8:45 am yesterday.

  3. Glad you gave the cherry a try :) Soy yogurt isn’t for
    everyone but at least you were open to it! Happy New Year,
    Stacie

Leave a Reply

