Improving my sleep habits

I realize I haven’t been getting enough sleep during the work week. On the weekends, I sleep in until about 7 or 8 and go to bed around 10:45. That amount of sleep feels perfect. At work today, I wanted to eat sweets and was always hungry. To me, those two elements signal that I am not getting what I need in sleep. I currently go to bed around 10:30 and get up at 5:50, which doesn’t leave me with quite the rest my body needs. My goal for tonight is to try to get to bed by 9:30 or 9:45. Don’t know if that will happen Tuesday through Thursday nights of this week, as I am babysitting my nephews and working Wednesday/Thursday until 9 p.m. At least I will be able to sleep in on Wed/Thurs. Do you crave sweets when you are tired?

My breakfast included one of the new cereals I picked up at the grocery store on Saturday. Kellog’s Fiber Plus Antioxidants Berry Yogurt crunch cereal with fresh blueberries.

Kellog's Fiber Plus Antioxidants cereal, blueberries, coffee

It was ok. Didn’t have a ton of flavor, even with yogurt pieces thrown in.

Lunch was leftover Baked Stuffed Shells, a peach Chobani with canned peaches on top, & a string cheese.

peaches, Chobani peach yogurt, string cheese, Baked Stuffed Shells

As I mentioned, I was craving sweets today and for some reason, that lunch didn’t fill me up completely. After a meeting, I went to buy some peanut butter cookies out of the vending machine. I think I have only bought cookies of out the work vending machine one other time. Not bad for almost three years at my job!

After work, I picked up the third and final Stieg Larsson book from the library, The Girl Who Kicked the Hornet’s Nest. Maybe I will read two books in January and start my New Year’s goal off on the right foot. As for the other Larsson books–I plowed through the first one, went a bit more slowly through the second and who knows how fast I will read this third and final book by Larsson. He is an excellent writer and I wish he was still around to share more intriguing stories with the world.

The Girl Who Kicked the Hornet's Nest by Stieg Larsson

Can’t wait to log off of the computer, bake some chocolate chip cookies (so I don’t have to buy any from the vending machine) and dig into this book tonight! Besides Friday, it is truly my only relaxing night this week, so I am going to enjoy it.

Since it was snowing out before and when I left work, the drive home was slow going and I didn’t make it to Boot Camp in time. I just headed to the YMCA on my own and did 25 minutes on the recumbent bike while watching the HGTV dream home special–love watching all of the beautiful touches they add to those houses! I also did 10 minutes on the stair stepper, which I must say is a good workout because I was sweating after those 10 minutes! I also lifted some free weights for my arms.

I already knew what I wanted for dinner when I got home from the gym. My co-worker had some buffalo wings for lunch today and the smell made me want some myself. I had the third and final gardein product in my freezer to try out–meatless buffalo wings. I paired them with a side of baby carrots, broccoli and pepper jack cheese.

gardein classic style buffalo wings

gardein buffalo wings, fresh veggies, pepper jack cheese

They were pretty good! Nice and spicy. I added a little Frank’s Red Hot too, because I’m obsessed like that.

I blogged early tonight and it’s time to read a few blogs, log off, bake and read! Good night! Don’t know if I’ll be able to blog at all tomorrow, but if not, I’ll catch up on Wednesday morning before heading to work.

4 responses to “Improving my sleep habits

  1. I will have to try those buffalo wings. I love anything
    buffalo wing and usuall add extra sauce as well. My sister was just
    telling me about that book series so I will have to check it out.
    I’ve heard its great from others but my sis and I have the same
    taste in books so if she says it’s good, I will most likely love
    it!

  2. Seeing your wake-up time makes me shudder, I don’t roll out
    of bed until 7am. I’m not sure about sleep and craving sweets,
    because I get 9 hours/night and up until very recently was a
    vending machine addict… although that could be due to the very
    boring nature of my job :)

    • I like to get to work around 7:30/7:45 and leave around 4. I can then get to the gym before dinner time! I wish I could get 9 hours of sleep every night. I think my body needs that much.

      My job can be kind of boring at times too and I crave sweets when I am sick of looking at the computer and sitting at my desk.

Leave a Reply

