Brrr, it’s cold outside & a perfect day for soup

It’s a soup kind of day…with temperatures the coldest they have been all winter, my body craved soup this morning.

So, I pulled out some Minestrone from the cabinet and packed it for lunch.

I also had some grape tomatoes, pita chips and a chocolate chip cookie.

cookie, minestrone soup, grape tomatoes, pita chips

Breakfast was Jessica’s granola again. I can’t get enough of the stuff!

breakfast Jessica's Vanilla Maple granola

For those of you interested in the nutritional stats on the Vanilla Maple Jessica’s gluten free granola flavor, here they are:

Jessica's granola nutrition

Jessica's gluten free granola nutrition

Morning snack was about 5 or 6 dried apricots and a Yogi green tea kombucha.

dried apricots, yogi green tea kombucha

I got a big craving for chocolate mid-afternoon (blame it on the long email I had been writing compiling lots of stats and comments).

So it was off to the candy shop at my work. It was either milk duds or a $7.00 bar of chocolate that the cashier said was “just ok.” Milk duds it was!

Milk Duds

When I got home from work, I found another package on our doorstep. It wasn’t something I won, but a package from Amazon which contained a yoga book for my husband and this book for me to read on our trip to Florida:

The Omnivore's Dilemma by Pollan

Karma wanted to read the new David Sedaris book because it’s about animals. I still have to finish the Larsson book, but will get started on Sedaris soon and just read two books at once. I need a funny book after this rough and tiring week! David Sedaris was on CBS Sunday Morning a couple of weeks ago and that man just cracks me up. I think I have read almost all of his books and my favorite is Me Talk Pretty One Day.

books and cat

squirrel seeks chipmunk by david sedaris

I finally made a quinoa dish for dinner tonight. It contained TJ’s organic quinoa, grape tomatoes, chickpeas, feta, mozzarella, dried basil, garlic and a few Penzey’s spices. I topped it with olive oil, balsamic vinegar and a little sea salt. Every time I eat quinoa, I think to myself, “I need to eat this more, it is so good.” I love it’s versatility. I don’t think I have ever made the same quinoa dish. I just use whatever ingredients we have that go together well.

quinoa with tomatoes, feta, mozzarella, dried basil, penzey's spices, balsamic, olive oil

My picky eater husband even ate it! I think this is the first time he has ever had chickpeas. I told him they didn’t really taste like anything particular and he bought it.

And because I can’t stay away from this stuff, I had more of Jessica’s granola for dessert tonight.

dessert Jessica's vanilla maple nutrition

Then it was off to yoga. My favorite teacher still wasn’t there tonight, but we had the teacher whose class I go to on Saturday mornings from time to time. Class was empty, but the gym itself was packed. Probably the most packed it has ever been since I have been going there for four months and I was surprised because the wind chill is probably in negative temperatures tonight.

Time to start reading the first chapter of the Sedaris book called “The Cat and the Baboon.”

Tomorrow, I’ll be blogging in the morning if I have time. I have to work mid-afternoon until midnight. Probably an eleven hour day and I am on my feet for so much of that time. After these particular events, I am just so tired all weekend and achy.

5 responses to “Brrr, it’s cold outside & a perfect day for soup

  1. Loving all the eats today! Especially the Milk Duds!

    I love the versatility of quinoa but I think my favorite way is cold with tomatoes, zucchini, feta, red onion, extra virgin olive oil, lemon juice and garlic. So simple and perfect in the summer time!

  2. The Ominvore’s Dilemma is a really great book! Milk duds are pretty great as well, haha.

  3. yummm milk duds…GOOD CHOICE! looks like you had a busy day full of good food…so it was a good day!!! haha

  4. ahh tat granola looks so good!! and i love all the dif flavors! quinoa is amazing.. im currently eating it with cottage cheese, cinnamon and almond butter all together with agave drizzled… SO GOOD

  5. That granola has good stats on lower sugar count. I’m always checking for the grams of sugar. So much pre-made food has so much extra sugar. They are starting to steer away from high fructose corn syrup, but they replace it with corn syrup and I just wonder, why not cut back on the sugar?

Leave a Reply

