Outdoor biking bliss (only in my dreams)

Where did the day go? I woke up somewhat early, watched CBS Sunday Morning, read a bit of the paper and ate this cereal for breakfast:

Kellog's Crunchy Nut cereal

I did some research on my husband’s desktop Mac and then was hungry again mid-morning.

I had a mini bagel with strawberry cream cheese.

mini bagel with strawberry cream cheese

After I showered, I was hungry yet again! I craved a green monster, so I blended one up with spinach, frozen pineapple, a fresh banana, Soy protein powder, ice and Silk Almond Milk.

green monster smoothie

I also had an attune raspberry chocolate probiotic bar.

attune probiotic chocolate bar raspberry chocolate

That was kind of my lunch for today. I didn’t feel too hungry around lunch time and started reading my book again. Unfortunately, reading makes me really sleepy lately and I fell asleep on the couch for the second day in a row. I woke up with Karma the cat by my side and we were sleeping in the exact same position. Is it weird that my cat and I end up sleeping the same way?

Anyway, I was sad when I woke up because I had been dreaming I was in Sweden, biking on my Trek bike and enjoying nice warm weather. The Sweden setting in my dream definitely came from reading the Larsson book. Biking outside–well let’s just say that I have been thinking about biking outside a lot and how much I miss it and the nice weather.

Here I am on my bike on Craig’s 30th birthday last summer. I surprised him by asking his boss if he could be off of work, made him breakfast in bed and we went for a beautiful 14 mile bike ride along Lake Michigan.

biking along lake michigan

Aaah, I miss summer.

When I got up, I was in the mood to bake. I used a cornbread muffin mix and added jalapenos to it. We froze a bunch of jalapenos from our garden last summer and they are super hot. My hands are literally burning from cutting up the jalapenos two hours ago!

jalapeno cornbread muffins

I kept the oven on and made buffalo tofu. This was my first time baking tofu in the oven and it turned out pretty good.

buffalo tofu

I added it to a spinach salad with feta cheese, tomatoes and an olive oil and balsamic vinegar dressing.

salad with buffalo tofu

Well, I am feeling lazy this weekend and not sure I will hit the gym today. I definitely will be going there tomorrow. I have the day off because I work this Saturday. I plan on working out, going to see a matinee of The King’s Speech and to shop at the mall.

I am crossing my fingers for the big snowstorm this week! Not that I want the snow, but if we get a foot, I definitely will be working from home or just taking the day off. It could hit the Midwest on Tuesday or Wednesday. I would rather have it come now than on the day we have to leave for Florida.

4 responses to “Outdoor biking bliss (only in my dreams)

  1. Those cornbread muffins sound insanely delicious!
    I’m awaiting the snow storm too! Up to 20 inches!? Yikes

    • I know-I think Illinois is definitely going to get hit worse than Wisconsin. The area we live in is expecting up a foot in one day though. Eek. Definitely a day I would need to stay home from work because I drive a little car!

  2. Why have I never thought to make buffalo tofu?? GENIUS!!

    Thats sweet of you to do all that for hubs on his bday–cute pic of you!

    • I know, especially when one is as obsessed with buffalo sauce as I am (and you too)! I stole the idea from other bloggers, so I am not the genius. Carrots N’ Cake always makes it, but she credited getting the idea from other bloggers too.

      I was proud to pull off the surprise for him on his birthday last summer. I wrote his boss and HR lady an e-mail asking for him to get off of work and they approved. When I told my husband he had off for the day (it was a Monday), he thought I was kidding. He just figured I made him breakfast in bed and was doing something nice for him. He deserves it, he is a wonderful husband.

Leave a Reply

