Monday off

I had this Monday off because I work on Saturday. I am also hoping for this Wednesday off because of the snow!

Originally, I wanted to treat myself to a matinee movie of The King’s Speech. Those plans all changed as I ate the breakfast below (Stonyfield plain yogurt with Jessica’s almond cherry granola, fresh blueberries, chia seeds and a bit of almond milk; coffee; and a jalapeno cornbread muffin I had to save for a mid-morning snack because I was too full from my main meal).

yogurt with granola, chia seeds, blueberries; jalapeno cornbread muffin; coffee

You see, the last in the trilogy of the Stieg Larsson books was due back to the library today. I still had about 150 pages to read. Well, I stayed on the couch, snuggled with Karma and read the rest of the book. It moved fast at the end, but I think I read for about an hour and a half straight!

By the time I finished reading, I really felt like moving and going to the gym instead of showering and heading to a movie theater to sit for two hours. I sat enough (and napped) all weekend! The gym was calling me and I headed there for a good two hours.

Before the gym, I needed something to hold me over until the end of my workout. I snacked on half of a peanut butter cookie Larabar.

peanut butter cookie larabar

Walking into the gym, a cute little toddler girl was walking out way ahead of her mom and into the round driveway where cars pull up quite often. I looked at her mom’s face and immediately turned around to stop the little girl. It was a scary moment for her mom, who was tied up with a little boy in her arm. She was very grateful for what I did and then the guy who checked me into the Y said to me, “you saved that little girl.” It was my good deed for the day.

I worked out on the elliptical for 45 minutes. Blame HGTV and an American looking for a house in the French countryside. Aaah, they get me every time with International House Hunters. I also did a full circuit of weights and then called it quits, because it was a little after 1 p.m. at this point.

The snow was coming down pretty badly when I was driving back and I was glad to get off the slushy roads. Sadly, this is just the beginning of the snow for us this week!

For lunch, I made a buffalo tofu wrap for lunch with a whole wheat tortilla, spinach and swiss cheese.

buffalo tofu with spinach, swiss cheese, whole wheat tortilla

This meal filled me up! I probably will bring the same thing for lunch tomorrow too. Tofu is the perfect food for me because I normally don’t eat a lot of protein and subsequently, don’t feel full and want to snack a couple of hours after a meal. With tofu, I always feel full until my next meal.

After lunch, I got to work on dumping photographs from iPhoto onto my Lacie hard drive. I really need to make photo books out of each season or year. Otherwise, digital photos just sit on my hard drive. Blogging has also caused rows and rows of food pictures to sit in my iPhoto. I need to clear those off my computer, because really, what am I going to do with all of them?

I headed out in the snow again to return my book and dvd to the library. Then it was time to shovel some of the driveway until my hands were so freezing cold that I couldn’t stand it anymore.

Off to get ready to head out again with Craig! We’re going to look at one more eyeglass place and then hopefully order some new glasses for him tonight.

Hope you had a good Monday!

3 responses to “Monday off

  1. Wow, sounds like you had a very productive Monday! Nice job on the workout as well. I find 45 to 60 minutes the norm for me now when I go to the gym. And wow, go you for saving that little girl!!

  2. Do you have link for the buffalo tofu? I’ve been noticing that with my indoor spin class, I’m ravenous and have been since Saturday this week. When I figured out that bike riding for an hour can burn 600+ calories, it’s no wonder I want more food. If I could quell the hunger with low calorie, high nutrition, I might be able to lose a few pounds to help me tone up and build strength.

    I know that mother was super grateful. Having two little ones is such a challenge.

    • I think the link is still archived on Craig’s computer. I sort of did my own thing for the marinating part. After pressing the tofu for 20 minutes, I marinated it in Frank’s Red Hot and a few Penzey’s spices, including Chili. I’ll get you the directions from the blog because she specified the temperature and bake time.

      Tofu is one of my new favorite foods. It really is so versatile. I like Nasoya extra firm.

Leave a Reply

