Florida makes me happy

As we were driving this afternoon, I was so excited to be in Florida. My husband said, “you’re so happy, it’s sickening.” Florida–you make this girl happy. I think the sunshine and warm temps are definitely the key. Plus, being on vacation is great too. I have honestly been pretty cranky this winter and do find myself cheerier in the spring and summer.

We got up at 4:30 this morning and took off at 7. I ate overnight oats with chia seeds, almond milk, dates, maple syrup and honey for breakfast this morning.

001

We had a smooth flight, except for the guy next to Craig who snored the ENTIRE time. And it wasn’t a quiet snore.

snoring guy on plane, argh

002

I read Glamour magazine and snacked on peanuts, prezels and orange juice (still need my vitamin C). I really wanted to start The Omnivore’s Dilemma but couldn’t because I left my book in the overhead compartment and the snoring would have distracted me anyway.

004

I also had a coffee. Love the “lift” on the Southwest cups and the heart stir stick.

005

Once in Orlando, we got our rental car and we were off to find our hotel. I am driving the rental car this week and enjoying trying out a new car model–a Kia Forte. It’s pretty nice so far.

kia forte

We were able to check-in early at the hotel and even scored an upgrade of a refrigerator and microwave in our room! Sweet.

We got acquanited with our hotel, rested, snacked and unpacked a bit and then we went to the outlets.

006

007

premium outlets Orlando

We shared a footlong ham sub from Subway.

Subway

I was so excited for the Lululemon Athletica outlet, but like Une Vie Saine said when she visited this same store a couple of weeks ago, their selection wasn’t as expansive as I had hoped it would be. I may be back there later this week to get a top and some pants.

013

lululemon outlet Orlando

After the outlets, we drove north to find Menchie’s Frozen Yogurt.

menchie's orlando

024

menchie's

It certainly did not disappoint! As Craig said when he took this picture–I look like a happy little kid. More like a happy little food blogger.

me at Menchie's

Craig was also happy. He loved his strawberry and georgia peach combination.

Craig and Menchie's Strawberry and Peach yogurt

I topped my cake batter flavored frozen yogurt with blackberries, strawberries and mochi. Oh my gosh the mochi was the best part. Next time we go back, I am getting more of those on top!

my menchie's cake batter with strawberries, blackberries, mochi

023

And finally, after Menchie’s, we went to Whole Foods where I got dinner from the salad and hot bar, we picked up a few drinks and Craig got some chips.

whole foods orlando

Can I just say how good it is to wear flip flops?

fiip flops pedicure

Seriously, why can’t we just move to Florida? I don’t even care if they have hurricanes and the summers are hot.

Off to the hotel gym and then to eat a late dinner.

4 responses to “Florida makes me happy

  1. Yay for the warmth! So happy for you!

    I still have not been to a Lululemon. I would like to check it out some day!

  2. I’m going to admit it…I’m a bit jealous of your flip flops and frozen yogurt! Enjoy the warm weather! :)

  3. I love Florida! And I love everything in this post! I’ve never had Menchies, but I’ve heard so many good things about it :)

  4. I grew up in FL but am totally not a FL person–I hate hot weather. I do like the sun and beaches though. I love that you all took a picture with snoring guy and then the complete 180 in your faces when you got the fro yo! I’ve seen that Menchie’s mentioned on some blogs and want to try it.

    I was relieved to see you all flew b/c I wasn’t sure if you were driving down there. Have a great time and a fun trip!

Leave a Reply

