Super busy Saturday

I’ll recap what we did yesterday and then summarize today in a separate post, but the post about today may have to wait until tomorrow. We were constantly off to somewhere new yesterday, so I had no time to blog.

On Saturday, we had breakfast at the hotel and they had a pretty good spread. I had eggs, potatoes, a yoplait yogurt, coffee, and a chocolate muffin. I think I accidentally deleted the photo, oh well.

We didn’t have formal plans for the day, but decided to head to Mead Gardens in Winter Park, just north of downtown Orlando.

It was a pretty park to walk around in and had completely free entrance and parking. I think this park would be beautiful in the summer, especially with the flowers all blooming.

Mead Garden, Winter Park, FL

Mead Garden, Winter Park, FL

We saw a bunch of beautiful bushes of flowers, so I snapped some photos.

106

After walking for a while, we headed to downtown Winter Park. It’s a cute area with lots of shops.

046

Both Craig and I are/were shopped out, but we hit the Farmer’s Market for a bit. Apparently, kettle corn was all the rage because almost everyone we walked by had it in their hands and the line was super long.

038

Making Kettle Corn

033

All of the fresh fruit and veggies looked so yummy. I cannot wait for spring and summer!

037

It was sort of cool out, so I warmed up with an Awake Tea Latte at Starbucks.

We hit the road again and weren’t sure what to do, except that I knew I wanted to hit the Ugg outlet on the way back because we had spotted it on our way north. I need Ugg boots so badly for the Wisconsin winters. Back to that in a bit.

Driving in Orlando, I remembered that Dandelion Communitea Cafe was in the area we were around. Luckily, we had GPS on Craig’s phone and found it really easily.

me at Dandelion Communitea Cafe (Vegan food)

It was really cute and cozy inside.

047

I had a Buffalo 66 wrap with fruit on the side. It was really yummy and exactly what I was craving for lunch.

Dandelion Communitea Cafe

It was my second day in a row eating tempeh. I like it, even though I think I prefer tofu more. Tofu seems softer and tempeh is harder and chewier. Anyone else agree?

Then it was time to endure getting off the freeway to get to the Prime outlets. I have never had such a crazy experience as we had trying to find a parking spot at these outlets! We parked along the side of a lot after about a half hour of trying to find a spot. Craig stayed in the car and I quickly ran to the Ugg outlet.

Ugg outlet

I got warm Ugg boots in Florida of all places

I found the boots I wanted, noted they were $20 cheaper than online or in the stores, tried them on (it was my first time trying them on), loved them instantly and bought them right away. It was the fastest $120 I have ever spent in my life. I have been wanting them all winter. How odd that I ended up buying them in Florida though!

new Uggs

I quickly ran to Victoria’s Secret outlet, which had some amazing deals too. If I really needed anything, I would have spent more time in there. I wish we would get one in the outlets in WI.

I was just happy with my Ugg purchase! I know some people don’t like the looks of them and I simply don’t care because warm feet in brutal Midwestern winters is key. My current boots just aren’t cutting it. They leak and my feet are cold constantly

Once we got back to the hotel, we rested a bit, took a little nap and went to mini golf! I did pretty good this time, but Craig definitely won!

061

066

After mini golf, we went to Pinkberry for frozen yogurt! I think I have a problem. I am addicted to frozen yogurt.

This lovely cup of blood orange fro yo piled with fruit was my dinner.

pinkberry fro yo-blood orange with fruits

110

The interior was so sleek and modern. I wish we could incorporate some of these design elements into our house.

116

The last event of the night was Downtown Disney. It’s totally free to enter and park there. It’s full of restaurants, shops and other attractions.

084

I liked this shirt.

088

And this one too.

086

Well, it’s late and we need to get up earlier tomorrow for our day at Universal Studios Islands of Adventure. We’re going to the Wizarding World of Harry Potter first thing in the morning. We have to get to the parking lot by 8:30 so we can get in the park right at 9.

Be back tomorrow with our adventures from Cocoa Beach and Merrit Island National Wildlife Refuge today. We saw a HUGE alligator, two armadillos, dolphins swimming, and some beautiful birds.

Night!

3 responses to “Super busy Saturday

  1. Wow all of this within one day? You were a busy gal! Dandelion looks adorable, I love places like that.

    I didn’t even know that Ugg had outlet stores but we all deserve something nice so good for you for getting the boots. Plus you live up north and have to keep your feet warm right? I can justify any purchase!

  2. beautiful pictures… looks like a great day!! mmmmm pink berry :) haha

  3. The Dandelion Cafe looks so fun! Yes, tempeh is way more “meatier” than tofu. Not sure I’m a fan of tempeh, but it was probably the way I made it.
    My Mom bought me some Uggs for Christmas, they are amazing in Michigan winters and I love how soft they are inside.

Leave a Reply

