Stress, stress go away

I can’t believe the weekend is over. Here’s what we’ve been up to.

Yesterday, I woke up in a fog of thoughts and heart palpitations. We’ll leave it at that. This cannot be a healthy living blog if I cannot get past one particular aspect of stress that keeps haunting my life. Let’s just say Friday was my lucky day until about 11:15 p.m. and then all hell broke loose.

I woke up and had this for breakfast:

IMG_3593

Craig and I were going to see The King’s Speech yesterday, but decided to save it for today instead.

Yesterday, we went shopping for organizational items for our house!

Before our big shopping trip, we fueled up at Qdoba. I had a small chicken tortilla soup and a naked burrito.

I was like a kid in a candy store shopping for organizational items, especially since all of the things we purchased should end up being free through his work. We ended up at Target, Home Depot and Office Max. We got a few things at Home Depot and most items at Target. We came away with a nice 5 prong hook to hang in our staircase for our keys, my purse, our coats, scarves, etc.; a big plastic tote for storage; huggable hangers; a three tiered shelf for the kitchen cabinet; a three drawer cabinet for our hallway closet (we put medicine in it); four plastic containers with lids; and a shelf for the garage. It will feel good to have our small house a bit more organized with these items!

I also was like a kid in a candy store when I went to Sentry grocery store and found Chobani for $1.00 each, thanks to a tip from Karis at Karis’ Kitchen. Thanks Karis! The weird thing was that I must have looked like I found the best thing ever because the lady handing out samples next to the yogurt section said to me, “what’s with greek yogurt anyway?” She basically wanted to know if it was a “gimmick” and I explained why greek yogurt is superior to regular yogurt, in my opinion of course. I told her that for me, as someone who eats a mostly vegetarian diet, it is great to eat a yogurt that has 14-17 g of protein every day. I also explained that the ingredients were ones I was comfortable putting in my body every day. By the end, I had convinced her to buy a couple of Chobani yogurts and try them for herself. Made me wish I was a registered dietitian as I walked away because my true passion comes out when I talk about nutrition.

I lounged around at night, had a big salad for dinner.

salad

A Fit & Active (Aldi) mint ice cream sandwich was my dessert.

I had a glass of wine later on. Because it makes me tired, I didn’t have it until close to bedtime and then I was tired when we played Wii play right before bed. Oh well!

This is the Three Wishes wine from Whole Foods. It is their “two buck chuck” and I found it to be ok, not the best flavor, so just ok. What do you expect for $2.99 though!?

wine

Now onto blog about today while I watch the Oscars. Inception is winning a lot of awards at this moment! Are you watching the Oscars?

4 responses to “Stress, stress go away

  1. I keep hearing about everyone finding $1 Chobani’s and I can’t find them here anywhere. I’m not trying out the new flavors until I find them on sale!

    I’m watching the Oscars and struggling to stay awake.

  2. So sorry to hear that you’re feeling stressed. I laughed out loud when I read your comment about buying Chobani at Sentry…I was there again today picking up more because I’ve now convinced Chris that Chobani is better than the brand of greek yogurt he was eating :)

    • I need to go back before they are off sale and get more too! Glad you were able to convince your husband to eat Chobani. I still haven’t had any luck with Craig. He’s a yoplait guy due to their price more than anything. Boo.

Leave a Reply

