Daily Archives: March 1, 2011

My first meditation session

One week from today, my husband and I will attend a “guided meditation” class. Before going to this, my husband wanted me to experience meditation the way he practices it (non-guided, mantra based). He also encouraged me to start meditating today because I am in desperate need of it this week and know I’ll be in the same place next week.

So, after staying late at work, I came home, read about meditation and what to do during the practice, then practiced for twenty minutes with my husband also joining me. I have to say that the whole point of meditation is to clear your thoughts and humans have too many going through their head. Boy did that happen to me tonight during the practice. I’d be thinking about something and then have to say the mantra to get my mind off of that thought. It is tougher to do than it sounds!

Everywhere I look lately I read about how meditation is beneficial for all sorts of things. In a Milwaukee Journal Sentinel article from Sunday, February 20, 2011, it is noted that “yet another study released last month–this one in the journal Psychiatry Research: Neuroimaging–reports that those who meditated for about 30 minutes a day for eight weeks had measurable changes in brain density in areas related to memory, sense of self, empathy and stress.” All I can say is that we all could use a bit more of these improvements in our brains and lives, don’t you agree?

Have you ever tried meditation? If so, any tips on how to maintain the practice?

I want to look as calm and happy as this little kitty every day. Don’t you just love how he snuggles on my husband’s shoulder..ok, back to meditation thoughts.

Craig and Karma

Ideally, I’d meditate for 20 minutes in the morning and then in the evening, before I eat dinner or go to the gym. Like I said to my husband–that is a lot of time to devote in my already busy schedule. But, once work settles down a bit and I will leave on time instead of late every night, this should be doable and it is worth it in the end.

Breakfast today was a pear (that I sliced up into odd pieces) and a Strawberry Banana Chobani yogurt with a side of coffee of course. I am still drinking the awful flavored vanilla stuff and can’t wait till it is gone.

coffee, Chobani, pear

Snack at work was a trail mix bar and an Almond Latte (my new favorite).

I actually stepped away from my desk and ate lunch in the cafe. I brought my own, but didn’t read blogs while I ate and read Bill Bryson’s At Home instead. Love that book so far and am learning all sorts of fun facts (I am a history geek and majored in history in college, so the facts he talks about are intriguing to me). There was even an early food blogger mentioned–well not really, but someone who wrote down what he ate every day in great detail. That made me smile.

Lunch was leftovers from dinner last night, an applesauce, an unpictured tangelo and two oreo mint cookies.

noodles, mushrooms, green pepper, applesauce, oreo mint cookies

After meditation, it was late and Craig offered to make the easy cheesy noodle dinner while I rested on the couch. I covered it in Frank’s Red Hot. Yes, I know today was a heavy carb day. I actually don’t eat pasta a lot and didn’t mind having pasta twice today.

cheesy noodles

Around 7:30, I went to the gym for a quick session. I hate going to the gym that late, but it’s better than not going at all. I read the Bryson book and biked for 22 minutes and then lifted weights and stretched.

Ok, check this out–I hope I win! I still have more products to review from Swanson Health Products, but they’re the type that take a while to test out, so look for those soon (fish oil, skincare, and tea).

vitamins and supplements
Have a blog? Want to win a $100? Check out the Swanson Health Blog.

Good night readers!