Productive Sunday

I started off my Sunday by watching CBS Sunday Morning. I am always impressed by that show and the quality of the stories shown. Today, I was very happy to see the story on The Container Store and how they put their employees first over their customer, because they know that by paying their employees well, training them extensively, giving them good benefits and 401K plans, they’ll treat the customer right as a result. Why can’t more companies be like this? Too bad there is no Container Store in Wisconsin for me to shop at and support. I love their company philosophy.

I ate breakfast during the show–coffee with Stonyfield non-fat vanilla yogurt, strawberries, & chia seeds.

Stonyfield; Chia seeds; strawberries; coffee

I went to the gym in the morning. On the way there, I wasn’t feeling too energetic. Per usual, once I got there and found the March issue of Natural Health magazine to read while working out, I knew that I would have a good workout. Before my workout, I checked out the top 25 women at the YMCA for the month of February and guess who made the list again!? Me at number 21 this time!! I couldn’t believe it, especially because I was off of the gym for a week and a half due to vacation. My friend Angie also made the list! Woo hoo! That news sure motivated me too.

I enjoyed reading Natural Health while biking for 18 minutes. That magazine is becoming one of my new favorites. I really should subscribe. Who knew that the girl who once resisted the “hippie” culture of Berkeley, CA while living there would become a granola girl herself! :) Maybe adopting a more natural lifestyle comes with age?

I followed the bike with twenty minutes on the Cybex Arc trainer. Kanye West’s “Power” and the new Britney song have been fun to listen to at the gym. I was getting sick of some of my old music, so I cleaned up my iPod last night and deleted some boring songs off of it for good.

At the end of my workout, I spotted my friend Angie! We hadn’t seen each other in a while, so it was fun to see a familiar face. I hopped off the Cybex and did a few weight machines, free weights and abs using the Swiss ball.

I was so hungry while leaving the Y, so I grabbed a YMCA peanut butter cookie from my gym bag and munched on it on the way home.

Once home, I toasted some honey wheat bread and topped it with nutella.

Larabar, toast with Nutella

I quickly showered, got ready for work, checked out how weird my cat was lying underneath an upside down box…

cat in a box

had lunch…

carrots & pizza

and finally, dessert was a small bowl of thin mints ice cream.

Edy's Slow Churned Thin Mints

I got to work around 1:30. I only had to stay a couple of hours for an event.

At home, I found my husband in the cleaning/organizing mood. His productive mood also rubbed off on me. I vacuumed, put away laundry, picked up in general and then I got super hungry.

I couldn’t think of what to make for dinner, but thought of the ingredients we had in the fridge and suddenly craved a panini. My husband said that sounded good to him too so I got the ingredients out and got to work on making dinner.

My panini had ham, cheddar cheese, spinach, tomatoes, oregano, sea salt and a bit of Trader Joe’s bruschetta topping. Yum!

We use the calphalon panini pan to make our paninis. I love that pan and still remember that we received it as a bridal shower gift from my sister two years ago.

panini

panini

I was still hungry and in the mood to bake, so I whipped up some chocolate chip cookies.

cookies and milk

They turned out ok. I followed the recipe and then it seemed like there was too much flour. So, I added another egg and then the dough was too sticky when I was rolling out the balls. Oh well. They tasted fine, but weren’t my best batch.

Here are the nutritional stats on the peanut butter and dark chocolate KIND plus bar. This is for Faith and anyone else who was curious after I posted about the bar yesterday.

KIND nutrition facts

And the ingredients:

KIND ingredients

Time to log off and get to bed. Not looking forward to this stressful week or working on Saturday, but am looking forward to when it’s over. I am just glad I have Tuesday off so I can go shopping during the day (I’ll be hitting up Banana Republic, Gap, & Ulta) and to the guided meditation class with Craig that evening.

Hope your weekend was lovely!

3 responses to “Productive Sunday

  1. Weekends are all too short, are they not?

    So, I’m curious, what’s the lowest amount of sugar in those bars you have. That KIND bar seems to be one of the lowest I’ve seen as far as sugars and I still feel it’s kind of high at 11 g. I keep trying to find snacks rich in protein but low in sugar. Sugar can really throw me for a loop during the day. My latest is buying raw almonds in bulk and roasting them in my oven myself.

    I’m also ditching my diet Coke habit. I hadn’t had one all week and then I had one today and I didn’t feel the greatest after having it. I’m going back to hot tea for my mid-morning pick me up. I’m also trying flavored seltzer water for a little fizz and flavor during the day.

    I was resistant to the health food and organic idea, but after seeing Jamie Oliver’s Food Revolution, watching my sister using mostly organic and starting my own family on using Community Supported Agriculture, I decided it was worth voting with my dollar and supporting things that keep us healthy.

  2. The closest Container Store near me is 2.5 hours away :( It needs to be closer! Good to know it’s a quality store too :)

  3. I think living a more natural way of life definitely comes with age! 10 years ago, I couldn’t have cared less, now I’m all about it! Your panini looks delicious!!!!

Leave a Reply

