Morning at the Winter Farmer’s Market

This morning, I got up, relaxed a bit, made oats in a jar and coffee and then got ready to go to my friend Angie’s house.

oats in a jar, coffee

We headed over to the Milwaukee County Winter Farmer’s Market together at State Fair Park.

blocks_image_0_1

It was a fun morning spent sampling all sorts of treats: dark chocolate caramel with sea salt, eggplant Parmesan soup (totally delicious), bread with balsamic vinaigrette, cookies, scones, bread, flaxseed crackers, feta/kalamata olive dip, sorghum syrup, granola, enchiladas, & strawberry preserves (tasted the difference between no sugar and sugar, I actually liked no sugar just as much). Well, no wonder I didn’t want to eat lunch later in the day! The samples were all very little of course.

I can’t wait until the spring and summer markets open up, but this was fun to experience. The only thing I purchased was sorghum syrup. I had never had it before or even heard of it. I sampled a bit before purchasing and think it tastes like molasses. I grabbed a free sorghum recipes brochure and will try making something from that, maybe some cookies.

sorghum syrup

sorhum syrup wisconsin

Here is a sign the booth had posted which did influence me to buy it.

glycemic load sorghum syrup vs. others

sorghum display at Winter Farmer's Market

After the market, I got a tour of Angie’s adorable house, we chatted for a bit and then I headed home. I thought Craig and I were going to get Indian buffet for lunch but after last night’s buffet and all of the samples I had at the market, we opted to save it for another weekend.

I was in my “cleaning mood” as Craig calls it and I did more laundry, hand washed lingerie, brought some things into the basement, did dishes, etc. It felt good to clean up around the house!

I finally had something for a late lunch–just plain chobani with the wild blueberry preserves.

chobani plain yogurt with bonne maman preserves

I rested on the couch and like always, conked out in a nap and so did Craig. By the time we woke up, it was 3:30. Aaah, naps are too common for me lately and then I feel so behind in my plans for the day.

I got up, cleaned some more and ate an early dinner.

I had red grapes first.

red grapes

Then I made pasta with mushrooms, kalamata olives, feta and tomatoes–all drizzled with olive oil and topped with a bit of sea salt.

pasta with mushrooms, kalamata olives, tomatoes, feta cheese

Dessert of cadbury mini eggs were calling my name.

Cadbury mini eggs

After meditating, Craig and I went on a walk around the neighborhood for about 20 minutes. I changed into my gym clothes when we got home and headed straight there, because it was getting late at this point in the day.

I just wanted to do a light workout so I lifted a few weights and biked for a half hour while finishing reading a Fitness magazine and watching HGTV’s dream home show.

Once home, I needed some protein so I had a strawberry Chobani yogurt.

strawberry chobani yogurt

Time to log off and watch Despicable Me! Tomorrow, I am headed to brunch with the girls and then to my parent’s house after to visit and drop off/pick up some things.

Night!

3 responses to “Morning at the Winter Farmer’s Market

  1. Dare I tell you that we raise sorghum at my work and made it into syrup last year? You should come out late August/September and see what it looks like in the field.

  2. I love food, and I really enjoy reading your blog very much thank you for sharing this post. Feel free to check out our recipes.

    Delicious Coffee Rolls

Leave a Reply

