Trying Kale Chips, at last!

Even though I had to work today, I had a great Monday. I was really tired when I first got up, but perked up with an afternoon coffee.

Breakfast was two Eggo whole wheat waffles with skippy crunchy natural peanut butter, syrup and earth balance spread.

coffee, eggo whole wheat waffles, peanut butter

No mid-morning snack for me because I was in a meeting that went longer than I expected it to. :(

Lunch was a ham sandwich with spinach, tomatoes and Frank’s Red Hot on whole wheat; applesauce; and red grapes.

applesauce, red grapes, ham sandwich

I snacked on half of an apple pie larabar an hour before I left work, so my tummy wouldn’t be so hungry at the gym. I had the other half at home, right before going to the YMCA.

larabar apple pie

After work, I picked up these two books from the library.

Animal, Vegetable, Miracle & Crazy Sexy Diet

I had started Animal, Vegetable, Miracle years ago, but never got into it, because at the time, I was not as interested in food and nutrition as I am now. I am reading it to prepare for a April 13th book discussion at the New Berlin Public Library. All of you local foodies–Karis and I are going to attend if you want to join us. She put it out there on her blog too.

I am also excited to read crazy sexy diet. I have heard good things about both books–if only there was more time to read! I’ll have to make time during my lunch breaks and before bed.

At the gym, I did a warmup of 10 minutes of biking at a quick pace. I then lifted a few weights and went on the Cybex Arc Trainer because it was the only cardio machine available. I wanted to run on the treadmill, but they were all full.

Recovery included a blueberry, frozen banana, milk, ice cubes and soy protein powder smoothie. I needed some protein to fill my tummy temporarily while I cooked dinner.

smoothie--blueberries, banana, milk, protein powder

Dinner was delicious! I finally made kale chips and used Kath Eats Real Food’s recipe. I also had some herbed tofu.

kale chips and herbed tofu

kale chips 1

The kale chips were really good. I had Craig try one and he was grossed out. Oh well. I topped them with various Penzey’s spices, sea salt and olive oil. I definitely learned my lesson because I should have made more, but I figured I was trying it out for the first time anyway, so I didn’t want to make too many in case they didn’t turn out well.

Fun fact for those of you watching Dancing With the Stars tonight (we don’t watch it). On our honeymoon in Europe, we happened to walk past (and later “stalk” to get pictures of) the model and now Dancing contestant Petra Nemcova on the Charles Bridge in Prague. It’s embarrassing, but I am the one who recognized her and not my husband. I remembered her as a supermodel and from about five years ago, when she was on Oprah talking about losing her fiance in the tsunami.

Here are my stalker pics of the model.

IMG_3476

Oh wait, that’s me in Prague. Ha ha.

Here’s Petra.

IMG_3480

IMG_3481

It looked like she was filming an ad on the bridge because she had a big group of people with her and they had video cameras and other equipment.

After we saw her in person, I had to take a picture of Craig next to this ad just for fun.

IMG_3542

Time to go read Animal, Vegetable, Miracle!

Hope you had a swell Monday too!

3 responses to “Trying Kale Chips, at last!

  1. That’d be awesome if other local foodies joined us for the book discussion! :) I remember having a hard time getting into the book the first time I read it, and thinking the second half was more interesting. p.s. I love kale chips!

  2. cant wait for a crazy sexy diet review!!!

  3. I read Animal Vegetable Miracle a few years ago, but like you, wasn’t really into it. My plan is to read it again this Summer. Can’t wait for your review of Crazy Sexy Diet, sounds interesting!!

Leave a Reply

