Treadmill time

I have been spending more time with the treadmill at the gym this week. I have purposely been running more to test out how I do with it. I think I’ve been doing pretty good, at least starting out with these low miles again. My knee sort of bugs me and I get side aches a lot, but I am sure that with proper training and everything, I can do a 10k in a couple of months.

I was in the mood for oatmeal this morning, so breakfast was stovetop oats with peanut butter. I added some cinnamon to spice things up but without a ripe banana, these oats were just ok.

coffee, oatmeal

Snack at work was peppermint tea and half of a Kind bar. I am on quite the peppermint tea kick lately. It has no caffeine of course, but the peppermint perks me up during a mid-morning break from work. While snacking, I read the article I posted earlier today about Wisconsin food and knew I would have to share it with you readers.

Lunch was an Amy’s vegetable pot pie and two oreo cookies for dessert.

oreos, amy's vegetable pot pie

Dinner was three pierogis and brussell sprouts loaded with Penzey’s spices. Thanks to Anne’s post today, I learned a lot about brussell sprouts and craved them for dinner.

brussell sprouts, pierogi

Dessert was some really yummy almond cake made by my mom with some skim milk.

milk, almond cake

Workout: I let my stomach rest and then got to the gym. I biked while reading Health magazine for 20 minutes; ran and walked on the treadmill for 15 minutes and lifted some weights. I also did some abs and major stretching of my legs.

Time to read Animal, Vegetable, Miracle and get ready for bed. My favorite quotes thus far are:

“Grocery money is an odd sticking point for U.S. citizens, who on average spend a lower proportion of our income on food than people in any other country, or any heretofore in history.”

“It’s interesting that penny-pinching is an accepted defense for toxic food habits, when frugality so rarely rules other consumer domains.”

I’m enjoying the book so far and am looking forward to discussing it at the New Berlin library’s food program in two weeks from tonight.

It’s reading and then bed time for this foodie!

2 responses to “Treadmill time

  1. I would never think that we spend proportionally less on food than other countries…makes sense. Yet I still try to save money on food. Its interesting how crappy food is so cheap while healthy food is much more expensive

  2. I just googled that book and it looks really interesting–thanks for mentioning!

Leave a Reply

