Gardening class, massage, and work

Sometimes it’s just more difficult to post on the weekend, so here’s my recap of the last two days.

On Saturday morning, Craig and I went to a “Grow Your Own Groceries” workshop at the Zablocki library.

Zablocki library

It was totally free and a really good class. I definitely feel like I’ll be more passionate and ready for gardening season to begin. We learned about pests, composting, when to start planting in our area, soil composition and other tips about gardening. We are going to container garden again this year because it worked well for us last year. Someday, it would be nice to have a raised bed.

We even picked out a bunch of seeds at the end of class!

seeds

Saturday’s breakfast was a mini bagel with egg whites, provolone, and Frank’s Red Hot. I also had some Chobani plain yogurt with blueberry preserves.

yogurt, egg sandwich, coffee

On the way back from our class, I snacked on a Larabar because it was nearing 12:30 and I was hungry!

Lunch was a ham, cheddar, spinach, tomato, and oregano panini and strawberries.

panini, strawberries

After lunch, I went to the Aveda Institute of Beauty and Wellness for an hour long massage. They just moved to a new location and it was really hip, yet relaxing inside.

Aveda Institute of Beauty and Wellness Milwaukee

Unfortunately, they were running late and I didn’t get into my appointment until about an hour after it was scheduled for. The masseuse I had made up for it because she did a fantastic job. I asked for deeper pressure and I got it. The interesting thing was when she told me I had crystals in my feet. That could mean many things, but it could have to do with reflexology. I guess I should rub my feet more and get the crystals out. She also said she could tell I work out a lot. My body wasn’t really that tight in areas though.

We had dinner late and I was in the mood for pasta, so I made some rotini that has servings of vegetables contained in it. This was for my husband’s sake more than my own.

I made some Nature’s Pride toast, cut it in half, and covered it with earth balance and garlic powder.

pasta, garlic bread

We watched part of the movie “The Town” last night and finished the other half tonight. It was better than we both expected.

This morning’s breakfast was plain old Cheerios with some coffee. It’s going to be hard, but I may stop using half and half in my coffee when it runs out. I think it will be better for me, but I also just have to get used to the taste of black coffee.

cheerios, coffee

I also had a bite of a cashew cookie Larabar before going to the YMCA.

I had a really good workout. I stayed for an hour and a half and felt like I could have done more, had I had the time.

I biked for 15 minutes while reading Health; lifted weights and can tell I am getting stronger because my old settings seem too light; ran on the treadmill and felt really good doing that; rowed for 6 minutes and then stretched.

After stretching, I looked outside and thought it was snowing. Then I saw the huge chunks falling from the sky and realized it was hail. We got a really bad hail storm today. It was not fun to drive home on and felt like a fresh coat of snow and ice.

I was hungry when I got home! I had an egg white with cheddar on a mini bagel and made an awesome chocolate banana protein smoothie.

egg sandwich, smoothie

I was still hungry before going to work this afternoon, so I had a raspberry chobani yogurt. It was my first time trying raspberry and it didn’t disappoint!

raspberry choani

raspberry chobani

I worked an event for almost three hours and then got of there because I was itching to be home.

We made pizza for dinner–boboli with mozzarella, pepperoni, and I added spinach and broccoli to my half.

pizza

Only two pieces for me so I can save the rest for my work lunch tomorrow!

Well, it’s getting late and I need to clean the house a bit before going to bed early. If I learned anything from last Sunday night, it’s that I need to get to bed earlier on a Sunday so I don’t feel tired and cranky on a Monday.

Hope you all had a great weekend!

2 responses to “Gardening class, massage, and work

  1. We are going to be moving this spring/summer so no garden for us, but I really want to have one next season! Good luck with your garden, you’ll have to keep us posted on the progress :)
    I designate Sundays as my sleep in days, and it’s SO hard to go to bed early Sunday night and then wake up early on Monday.
    Have a great week!

    • Too bad you won’t be able to have a garden this year, but a move is exciting! I’ll definitely keep everyone updated on our progress!

      I know–I love sleeping in on the weekends too and it’s so hard to get up on Monday at 5:40 am. Going to bed a bit earlier has been helping so much. Sometimes I feel like even 10 or 15 minutes makes all of the difference in the world!

      Hope you have a great week too Jen!

Leave a Reply

