Digestive Health

Last week, Anne posted a question on her blog asking “what does digestive health mean to you?” Having Ulcerative Colitis, I thought it was important for me to share my experience and comment.

Today, I saw that my comment was posted as one of seven on the attune foods blog. I am so honored to have my comment posted! Check it out! Thanks for including me and my digestive health story Anne. :)

In case you don’t want to click ahead, here is what I wrote on her site in response to her question:

“I have ulcerative colitis, so I think about digestive health every day (especially on days like today when I feel bloated and constipated). Up until a couple of years ago, I really ate whatever I wanted and started realizing what my “trigger” foods were, such as dark meat and soda. I cut those out of my diet and felt better. Then, I transitioned to eating more whole foods, made exercise a priority in my life and I instantly felt better. Also, digestive health for me means eating lots of yogurt for the probiotics! I tried the attune bars and they work well too!”

So I will now pose it back to my readers, what does digestive health mean to you? Anyone else out there deal with an Irritable Bowel Disease like I do?

Eek! Meditation this morning got moved to another room in our house because of a centipede lurking in our spare bedroom. I love spring but I hate the centipedes that invade our house with the warmer temps! I seriously scream at the top of my lungs when I see them. I have a big fear of bugs (spider and centipedes) and snakes. Any bugs that you fear?

Breakfast was a mini bagel with an egg white, cheddar cheese and Frank’s red hot. It’s kind of killing me to eat these white bread bagels instead of wheat, but I figure they are mini and they have to eaten up! I also paired it with some strawberries on the side.

strawberries, mini bagel with egg white, cheese, coffee

No snack at work (I am trying to cut back on morning snacks), unless you count an almond latte.

Lunch was a peanut butter and jelly sandwich, a lemon Chobani, some pita chips and another halva. I think I spelled the name wrong yesterday, oops. Sorry about that!

peanut butter and jelly, lemon chobani yogurt

Dinner was a Morningstar black bean burger on an Arnold’s Thin with some provolone cheese and then some brussell sprouts on the side.

morningstar black bean burger; brussell sprouts

After dinner, Craig and I went to vote in a local election and the polls were dead. I always feel like I have to exercise my right to vote because of all of the women who fought for this right and won it!

Then I quickly changed and got to yoga class. It felt good to practice, per usual.

My goal was to get this post out there and done early so I could go read my book, so that’s what I am sticking to. Night!

2 responses to “Digestive Health

  1. pawsitivelife

    The magic bullet for digestive health..”Florastor”, I had a really bad GI infection after antibiotic therapy 2 years ago. Basically I was on last line of defence drugs at 1000 bucks per treatment (thank god canada and free health care), i was told i would need surgery to remove part of the colon if things didnt work. Someone told me about this drug and it was amazing. it fills your gut with good yeast so that ‘bad’ things dont have a chance to settle down (think of it as a full parking lot).

  2. My husband has crohn’s, so I think about his digestive health a lot more than my own. To me, when we treat our bodies well, and put good, whoelsome things in them, they feel better. For us this is measured by if he is having pain or cramping or well other things I won’t write on the blog. But, all of this directly affects his energy levels too, so that is a good indicator.

Leave a Reply

