Busy, but productive Saturday

As my title says, it was a very busy day by choice, but felt so nice and productive. At about 6:20, when we were sitting down and having dinner together, I said to Craig, “wow, this day went by so slowly, but in a good way because I got so much done.” Love those kind of days!

I woke up, meditated and then had a craving for oatmeal, so that’s what I made.

oatmeal, coffee

I wanted to go to yoga, but by the time I ate, it was getting late and I was SO full from the oatmeal. I decided to stay home instead and clean. I was in one of my cleaning moods, so I threw laundry in, dusted, washed dishes, cleaned counters and the kitchen table, vacuumed, swept and got the kitchen ready for mopping. I managed to read my book in between cleaning too.

I wasn’t too hungry for a “real” lunch, so I had a pomegranate chobani and a triple chocolate chunk vita top.

vita top triple chocolate chunk; pomegranate chobani

The vita top was delicious, as expected! Very chocolaty!

Then I was off to Craig’s grandma’s 90th birthday party. I went late, after the meal was over, because I really didn’t want to pay $15 to have the meal choice they offered and there was no vegetarian option. They had fried chicken, ham, mashed potatoes, green beans, etc. I wouldn’t have enjoyed the meat and it probably would have upset my stomach. I just had a few bites of birthday cake.

Here is my sister-in-law, Grandma, and Craig.

Lisa, gma, Craig

After the party, I headed to Pick N’ Save to get some groceries on double double coupon day. I could double 10 coupons, which was great because we needed oatmeal, cereal, clementines, olive oil, etc. and I was able to save a lot of money today.

Then it was time to mop the floors! I really hate this chore more than any other in the house. It takes so much time to clear everything out and we just have a small kitchen and bathroom!

Seeing shiny, clean floors made me happy though.

clean kitchen floors

mop and bucket in bathroom

I felt like the energizer bunny today. The next thing I did was lace up my running shoes and get outside for a 15 minute run.

running shoes--Brooks Defyance

It felt so good to run outside opposed to the treadmill. I just wish I had a garmin to see what my pace was and the distance I completed. I know they aren’t that much money, but I am not sure it is worth the investment for me. Especially because I couldn’t use it at the gym in the winter.

Clearly this is a (shiny) face of a very happy blogger who can get outside and run, at last!

before running

Because I didn’t go to the gym, I decided to lift my 8 lb. weights too.

8 lb. weights

Dinner was delicious. Every time I make a quinoa dish like this, I just go “mmmmm” throughout dinner. I made mine with kalamata olives, roasted red peppers, tomatoes, tomato basil feta cheese, dried basil and mural of flavor from Penzey’s spices, olive oil and balsamic vinegar.

quinoa with tomatoes, kalmata olives, spices, feta cheese, roasted red peppers

When I saw this flavor at the store today, I knew I had to try it in the quinoa dish.

athenos feta cheese tomato and basil

And after dinner, Craig and I went on a long walk around the neighborhood. It was nice to see flowers coming up and some even had bloomed already! They’re really going to go into action tomorrow when it’s in the 70′s.

Right before I started blogging this post, I ate a skinny cow cookies n’ cream ice cream sandwich.

skinny cow sandwich

Time to finish reading Animal, Vegetable, Miracle. I am almost done!

Hope your Saturday was fantastic!

4 responses to “Busy, but productive Saturday

  1. I havnt tried the skinny cow cookies and cream (yet!). Isnt it lovely running outside?

    • Oh, you have to try it soon, that flavor is so good!

      It is so much better to run outside! I just wish I had a way to keep track of my pace, distance and time! Do you use something to keep track of your runs?

  2. I use a garmin but I am currently angry with it because I run the same route every weekend- 10 k according to google maps- sometimes the garmin times out or looses gps and records 8 k and the next day 6.8k. I think I have a dud though I usually just google and use a timer

  3. Pingback: Triple Chocolate Chunk Vitatop

Leave a Reply

