Barbies, exercise, and a yummy dinner

It was another great day for me/us! The warm weather put me in a good mood. :) I can’t believe it got up to the high 70’s today in Wisconsin! We aren’t used to these kind of temperatures at this time of year.

So, I woke up this morning and realized I have been dreaming about weird things lately. I remember this, but I woke up in the middle of the night from a running dream and was actually pounding my feet on the bed and woke Craig up. Then, I was dreaming about bananas too. I had a dream about brussell sprouts the other day. Craig said, “you’re even a food blogger in your dreams!”

I started out my day with coffee and Post Great Grains Cranberry Almond Crunch cereal.

coffee, Great Grains Cranberry Almond crunch

My parents came over mid-morning to bring a big filing cabinet to us. I will be glad to get rid of paper work from our office and organize it in this cabinet. They also brought some of my stuff they were still storing at their house, including my Barbies. Yes, I still have my childhood Barbies and I am 30 years old. Doesn’t every 30 year old still have theirs?

Karma enjoyed playing with one of them. He was attacking her at one point.

Karma and Barbie

After my parents left, I fueled up for a run/walk with some water and a clementine.

water, clementine

Craig and I were pretty warm after spending about 20 minutes outside.

I went to the gym after that and lifted a full circuit of weights, biked for 22 minutes, did squats and abs on the BOSU, did some abs on the Swiss ball, and lifted free weights. As you can see, the warm temps (extra warm in the Y workout room) motivated me to workout today!

Back at home, I made a chocolate banana protein smoothie. I added ground flax too.

chocolate banana smoothie

I didn’t really eat much else for lunch. The warm temps are affecting me and reducing my appetite.

I finally finished Animal, Vegetable, Miracle in the afternoon! I read this book pretty slowly, but really appreciated learning about the Hopp/Kingsolver family’s experience with eating from their farm and eating locally for a year. Looking forward to discussing it at the book discussion this week!

Animal, Vegetable, Miracle by Barbara Kingsolver

I was excited to start Crazy, Sexy, Diet, so I dove right into that selection. I love it so far!

Crazy Sexy Diet

Dinner was fresh asparagus roasted with olive oil, lemon, garlic, sea salt and ground pepper from Penzey’s. Yum!

asparagus

And some tofu.

asparagus and tofu

Now it’s time to get off of here and pay attention to the Amazing Race!

How was your Sunday?

6 responses to “Barbies, exercise, and a yummy dinner

  1. Your cat is too cute with that Barbie!

    I haven’t had asparagus in ages, I’m just waiting for it to go down in price.

  2. My grandma has all of my Barbies…I know she is just waiting for the chance go pass them over to me! I had a tendency to give them haircuts…it could be scary to go through them!

  3. I tossed all of my barbies, but now that my daughter is loving barbies, I really wish I would have kept them for her!
    I’m having tofu with asparagus tonight, can’t wait :)

  4. I totally have my Barbies stashed somewhere at my parents’ house, probably hiding out with my American Girl Doll haha… I recently started reading Crazy Sexy Diet too– love Kris Carr’s attitude!

  5. I broke out MY barbies for my daughter. she was less than thrilled about late 70s early 80s barbies.

Leave a Reply

