Dinner and book discussion

Last night, I didn’t blog because I went from work, home to meditate and then to meet Karis for dinner at Noodles and Company. This was our first time meeting in person after writing e-mails back and forth over the last couple of months. How fun to meet another blogger in person, especially because we are interested in a lot of the same things! She even was sweet enough to bring me two books I am really looking forward to reading: A Year of Sundays and A Homemade Life.

After a great dinner discussion, we headed over to the New Berlin Public Library for their book discussion on Barbara Kingsolver’s Animal, Vegetable, Miracle.

Animal, Vegetable, Miracle by Barbara Kingsolver

It was fun to hear what others, especially those coming from a different demographic, had to say about their impressions of the book. What I took away from the book was that growing as much food as you can helps the environment, your budget, your piece of mind and it’s a fun process. I am looking forward to hopefully expanding our patio container garden a bit this summer. Oh and I can’t wait to try some of her recipes inspired by what she grew on their farm.

I wasn’t too hungry this morning so I had Post Great Grains Cranberry Almond Crunch cereal and some coffee.

coffee, Post Great Grains cereal

I was tired again today so I had an almond latte and some raw almonds for a snack mid-morning.

blue diamond almonds; almond latte

Lunch was a pb & j sandwich. I used Smart Balance peanut butter and it’s really yummy.

clementine, pb & j, chobani peach

After work, I meditated and snacked on half of this KIND bar.

KIND plus bar

Then I met up with my friend Angie at the gym for some weight lifting and the elliptical. It was nice to catch up with her and chat while working out. So different to be working out without music blaring in my ears too.

I was so hungry by the time I got home at 7! I quickly chopped up some stuff and added to quinoa that was already cooked. It was basically the same quinoa combo I made the other day.

quinoa tomatoes, feta, red peppers, kalamata olives

And now I just lost to my husband in Wordfeud. It’s so addictive to play and I keep saying it’s my “Alzheimer’s prevention” because I don’t play enough word games. I am surprised my hubby likes it because he doesn’t like Scrabble. It’s fun to compete against him, even if I just lost to him big time. Oh well–there’s a new game starting now and I better get my thinking cap on.

IMG_0001

Night!

One response to “Dinner and book discussion

  1. Agreed, it was so fun meeting last night! Looking forward to seeing you again next month…I wonder if there’s any other Milwaukee-area bloggers who would want to get in on the fun :)

Leave a Reply

