Runner’s high

I definitely got a runner’s high tonight after running 2 miles on the treadmill and walking 1/2 mile. What a good feeling! I told my husband that running is starting to clear my mind more than meditation. It definitely helps me sort my thoughts about the day out.

Once home, I showered, changed into my jammies and iced using paradice ice packs.

paradice packs

Rewind to this morning…

Breakfast was chobani greek yogurt with almonds and honey. I realize I have been pretty boring with my food lately, but I am trying to eat up what is in our fridge and not waste it!

yogurt, almonds, honey; coffee

Lunch was a ham sandwich, applesauce, a clementine, some pita chips and two girl scout peanut butter sandwich cookies. I realize that sounds like a lot of food! I sort of snacked on the pita chips prior to lunch though. By the looks of this very brown themed lunch, I need to go grocery shopping for some veggies soon.

pita chips, applesauce, clementine, ham sandwich, peanut butter cookies

My afternoon snack was a raisin bran vitatop and a half a cup of decaf coffee. The coffee tasted yummy, especially because it was a dreary day in Milwaukee and coffee comforts me on rainy days. I really liked the raisin bran flavor–so good!

raisin bran vita top; decaf coffee

Dinner was late, when I got back from the gym. I needed something quick but relatively nutritious, so I cooked up my go to meal of late, pierogis and brussell sprouts.

brussell sprouts, pierogi

I cooked up this meal quickly while watching Food Revolution. Jamie always inspires me and makes me laugh, especially when he shows up in a tomato costume.

Jamie Oliver tomato

Rumor on the radio today was that he does eventually get into LA schools and the LAUSD gives in. It’s about frickin time!

Anyone else here this shocking food news today? The NY Times headline read: “Vegan Promoter Uses Photos of Meat and Dairy items and fury follows.” How disappointing for the readers of VegNews.

Hope your Tuesday was fantastic!

3 responses to “Runner’s high

  1. I love that high from working out :) and your breakfast (as usual) looks delish!

  2. Love the endorphins rush after working out! I literally feel on top of the world :)
    How do you cook your brussels sprouts?

  3. Its been a while since I had a runners high, and then on the weekend I added an extra 3 k to my usual run and it was amazing! I think I have just been stuck in a workout rut, and time to spice things up!

Leave a Reply

