Happy Earth Day!

Happy Earth Day everyone! Did you know that Earth Day was started by Wisconsin Senator Gaylord Nelson!?

Earth day sign Barnes and noble

What are you doing today or this year to improve the environment? I will keep using my reusable grocery bags at the grocery store/Target and I’ll continue to refuse a bag when I don’t need one from other stores. I also plan on buying some reusable bags for produce soon.

Craig and I woke up somewhat late this morning and it felt so good to sleep in, per usual. We finally got out of the house and went straight to Starbucks because I needed my coffee fix. I got my free earth day coffee by bringing in a reusable mug. I ordered perfect oatmeal and Craig didn’t get anything because he had his heart set on a breakfast sandwich and they didn’t serve them at that location we went to.

Starbucks perfect oatmeal; coffee

We also went to Barnes and Noble to look around. I paged through a Whole Living magazine and read articles like this, which basically told me to look for a new career when I took the quiz!

Do you really need a career makeover-whole living magazine

Whole Living Career Makeover article

whole living magazine

The good thing is that blogging as a hobby outside of my work is a healthy thing according to this article. They were just talking about having hobbies in general and I consider blogging a fun hobby that I have learned a lot from and it’s been great to connect with others who share the same interests as me.

I liked these journals–the one is appropriate for Earth Day and the other is appropriate for a food blogger! :)

Keep Calm and Recycle; Keem Calm and Have a Cupcake

Then we went to Panera for a free low fat wild berry smoothie. I had earned it on my panera card. Boy was it yummy! I saw the guy was using Stonyfield vanilla yogurt to make it–sweet! The consistency was not thick at all, but it still was a great smoothie.

Panera Low-Fat Wild Berry smoothie

Lunch was a bagel thin sandwich–like I had last night for dinner. Ham and swiss cheese, salad greens, mayo, hot sauce, oregano and sea salt. I had grapes on the side and a small chocolate bar for dessert.

grapes; bagel thin; ham; swiss cheese; greens

This afternoon, we just got stuff done around the house. Laundry, dishes and general picking up for me (I know it’s earth day and I should have abstained from these two things, but I used natural laundry soap). I wasn’t feeling very good, so I skipped the gym. I also didn’t have a lot of time to build it into my schedule since I have to meditate and eat dinner before heading out of the house again.

Later on tonight, I am going to babysit my two nephews. Should be fun since they’re always entertaining to be around!

Oh and finally, in case you want to enter a fantastic giveaway–head over to Anne from fANNEtastic food’s site.

3 responses to “Happy Earth Day!

  1. Those journals are adorable, I want one! I never knew that it was started by your senator, very cool to know since I love random info.

    Um, how many times do I need to go to Panera to earn that? I need one of those in my life!

    • I had only bought two bagels at Panera once (a long time ago) and I have already earned that smoothie and a free baked good. Loved that smoothie!

      I liked the journals too. I had to resist buying one.

      Oh and glad you learned something about Earth Day history!

  2. Hmmm… according to the article, it looks like I need a new work environment….I knew that already.

Leave a Reply

