Greek yogurt comparison: Chobani vanilla vs. The Greek Gods

I tried a new brand of Greek yogurt for breakfast today. My sister-in-law works close to a Woodman’s and she offered to pick me up anything I needed. I got excited because I had just run out of Chobani last week and needed a big tub again desperately. Unfortunately, Woodman’s was out of the plain, so she got me a vanilla. She also mentioned the Greek gods brand over the phone and I figured I would just try their plain. When she brought the yogurts over yesterday, I did a quick comparion of the nutritional stats and saw why the Greek gods yogurt was cheaper.

Chobani vanilla yogurt; Greek gods greek yogurt

The protein was only 4g per 4 oz serving compared to Chobani’s whopping 22 grams per 8 oz serving. I may pay extra for the Chobani, but it’s worth it to me, especially because I eat a mostly vegetarian diet. Also check out the fat content in each. 0 for Chobani’s 8 ounces, 11 grams per serving in the Greek Gods’ 4 ounce serving. Sure the sugar is higher in the Chobani, but that is because it is the vanilla flavored kind.

Chobani, non fat vanilla

Chobani vanilla yogurt nutritional stats

The Greek Gods Greek Yogurt

Greek Gods greek yogurt nutritional stats

So, I piled strabwerries, raspberries and Bonne Maman wild blueberry preserves on top. Because I am feeling sick lately, I couldn’t eat the whole bowl. Boo. I don’t think it was the protein filling me up or anything.

greek yogurt, berries, preserves; coffee

The verdict? The Greek gods was just ok. I still prefer the consistency and flavor of the Chobani greek yogurt. Can plain yogurt have a “flavor?” I guess so in my opinion!

Lunch was a salad with grape tomatoes, cucumber, feta cheese and lots of tofu on top. I also had a string cheese. I couldn’t eat the clementine so I saved it for my afternoon snack.

tofu, clementine, string cheese, salad, salad dressing

While I was meditating tonight, the UPS truck delivered my new running shoes from runningwarehouse!

runningwarehouse.com box

Asics gel cumulus

I got 10% off of them because Kelly from Beneath It All just picked up the same shoes and got her discount through Runblogger. They were only $71.95 and I get free return shipping if I am not satisfied!

Asics Gel Cumulus shoes

Asics Gel Cumulus shoes bottoms

My Brooks Defyance shoes were over a year old and granted I didn’t do that much running in them over the last year, I did wear them to the gym, wore them on walks and probably while biking and playing tennis last summer.

running shoes--Brooks Defyance

I decided to go back to my old favorite from when I worked at a running shoe store in California! I got the Asics Cumulus 12. Since I have knee pain occasionally when running, I thought the extra cushioning would help me out. I wore them on the carpet and then for a bit on our kitchen tile and they felt so supportive and cushiony (is that a word?). I know that the feeling of the new cushion does wear out pretty quickly, but I remember that feeling lasting a while in my old pair of Asics.

I thought I would go to the gym tonight, but then it was getting late and I was hungry. Craig was making a burrito, so I also decided to do the same and used chicken, rice, greek gods yogurt instead of sour cream, cheese, Penzey’s Arizona Dreaming spice, and Frank’s Red Hot.

homemade burrito

After eating too much food and with my stomach still giving me problems today, I decided to skip the gym and get out in nature with my husband. We went on a 25 minute walk around the neighborhood and covered a little over a mile. It felt so good to be outside, even though I missed doing my routine at the gym.

It’s time to go read blogs and some magazines! I am trying to power through my magazine pile and I managed to clear three from my huge stack over the weekend.

Tomorrow, I only have a half day of work because I have to go to Craig’s work for our annual Health Risk Assessment appointments. We get a discount on our insurance as a result, so it’s a must! After, I’m getting my haircut and a partial foil done! Can’t wait because my hair is at that nasty feeling stage–thick and the ends feel dry.

8 responses to “Greek yogurt comparison: Chobani vanilla vs. The Greek Gods

  1. Glad you were able to get the great deal on the asics too! I love the gel cumulus 12s. Definitely my fav running shoe. I love how cushiony they are! :)

    • Thank you again for the great tip! Without reading your post, I probably wouldn’t have spontaneously ordered the shoes on my lunch break last week. I had been waiting to find them at a decent price and seeing your post just pushed me to purchase them sooner rather than later.

      Good luck with your upcoming marathon!

  2. Thanks for the review! Enjoy the rest of it- there’s a lot to get through in that big ole container, huh? :)

    Emily, Chobani

  3. I like the kicks!

    I’ve never seen greek yogurt with that low of protein before, sketchy sketchy. Chobani will always have my heart!!

  4. looks amazing I loveeeee greek yogurt. Chobani definitely wins in the protein department!

  5. Few things feel better than a new pair of running shoes! I’m due for a pair myself. And I also have a monster pile of magazines to get through– not sure how that happened. :) Hope you’re having a great week!

  6. Yeah, Chobani is where it’s at!
    However, for plain, Fage 2% will always have my heart.

Leave a Reply

