Morning workout success

I got back to the gym this morning and it felt great. I got up around 5:40, meditated for 25 minutes and then was getting my workout clothes on when Craig yelled my name and said, “I think Osama Bin Laden is dead.” I replied “are you sure it’s not Gadhafi?” Of course, I looked it up right away on my nytimes app on my iPod and sure enough, it was the top story.

Anyway, back to the gym. I ran the three miles I was supposed to run yesterday and I did ok. I only ate half of a cherry pie larabar before leaving the house and I think that was perfect amount of food for my sensitive stomach. Towards mile 2, my right hip started hurting. This is the hip that seems to bug me lately, especially if I haven’t done yoga for a while. That is why I am incorporating at least two yoga sessions into my workouts this week. Once I was all sweaty and warmed up, I lifted mostly arm weights and felt pretty weak. Maybe it was because I only lifted once last week and the rest was all cardio? Anyway, noticing that made me want to stay consistent with my workouts even more now, plus try to do Body Pump more often.

It felt good to get my workout done in the morning and go into work a little later for a change. Maybe I will try that off and on throughout my work week.

Breakfast was the rest of The Greek Gods yogurt plus some plain Stonyfield yogurt with chia seeds and Bonne Maman wild blueberry preserves.

greek yogurt, Stonyfield yogurt, chia seeds, blueberry preserves, coffee

Lunch was an Amy’s Vegetable Pot Pie, string cheese, carrots, grape tomatoes and a small apple. Running this morning made me super hungry, so I grabbed a lot for lunch today and I am glad I did.

amy's vegetable pot pie, veggies, apple, string cheese

For dinner,I was just craving a smoothie, so I whipped up a strawberry banana protein smoothie using almond milk.

strawberry banana protein smoothie

Well, I am heading to a Vegetarian Indian cooking class tonight through the local rec dept. I am looking forward to it because I love Indian food and want to be able to cook it for Craig and I once in a while. Here is what we are supposed to be making: Vegetarian Dahl, Basmati Rice, Vegetable Korma with Cashews, Yogurt Raita and Apple Chutney. YUM! I’ll recap the class in tomorrow’s post.

With that, I need to go to class now! Have a great Monday night.

3 responses to “Morning workout success

  1. Your yogurt concoction looks awesome. I need to start adding preserves to mine!

    Have fun @ the class, can’t wait to hear about it.

  2. I love early morning workouts, puts the rest of the day in a better place!

    Hope the class was fun!

  3. Lift like a man and look like a goddess. A book I want to check out as well. I need more upper body strength, especially with my rotator cuff tendonitis.

Leave a Reply

