Trying new fitness classes

One of my new goals is to try various fitness classes at my YMCA more often. I usually just attend yoga and I really enjoy doing my own thing on the cardio and weight machines. I like Zumba and Body Pump, so I should get back into those. Tonight, I tried H.A.B.I.T which stands for “Hips, Abs, Butt, Intense Thighs.” It was a 45 minute class and the time just flew by. I really enjoyed the exercises and the teacher was good. I felt like I got a good workout for all of those areas of my body, which in my opinion, are my weakest and most fatty areas. We used the ball a lot and now I even have some new exercises to try out on my own. Too bad that the class may be going away for the summer months, but I will probably try to make it on Tuesday nights through June.

After class, my legs were killing me from the wall sit with the ball we had just done, but I biked for 20 minutes and logged 7.19 miles (which made me smile because this is my husband’s birthday).

To top it off, when I got home, I still had an incredible amount of energy, especially after eating, and Craig and I then took a 20 minute walk in our neighborhood because the weather is so nice. Guess I couldn’t get enough exercise today because I did something physical for two hours straight!

I had a really good day. I took breaks to manage my stress and listened to my iPod while working in the afternoon, which kept me happy and also made me less sleepy during my afternoon slump. I also got a bit carried away with listening to the German language lessons in between music because at one point, I yelled “scheisse” really loud and my co-worker laughed. I had just made a maddening mistake and the German swear word came out naturally.

Ok enough about fitness and enough text! Onto my eats and some photos!

Breakfast was Crunchy Nut cereal with skim milk and coffee. I am finding this cereal to be too sweet for me, but sometimes all I want is cereal in the morning, so I am eating it up and dealing with the sweet taste.

coffee and crunchy nut cereal

Lunch was a pb and j sandwich on Trader Joe’s wheat bread, pita chips, a strawberry Chobani and a few dark chocolate covered almonds. I didn’t end up eating the apple, so I’ll save it for tomorrow.

pita chips, strawberry chobani, pb & j, apple

Dinner was much needed after all of that working out! I knew what I wanted and was craving it at the gym. A green monster smoothie! I added almond milk, skim milk, chia seeds, frozen banana and of course, spinach to it. This was my first time adding chia seeds to it and I loved their addition! It was my husband’s first time trying chia seeds. He always laughs at them because he thinks of the chia pet.

While reading Amazon Daily on the kindle during my lunch break, I found an article about chia seeds and they showed pictures of chia pets, which made me laugh and think of my husband’s comments. I can’t link to the article, but the content was all stuff you probably know–how filling chia seeds are because of the protein and fiber, etc.

green monster smoothie

The unpictured aspects of my dinner were a small bowl of Chobani plain with preserves and two pieces of jack cheese.

Jamie Oliver’s Food Revolution–for the last couple of weeks, I have been excitedly turning on the TV at 7 p.m. on Tuesday nights and expecting Food Revolution to be on. I thought something weird was going on, that or Dancing with the Stars was concluding and those finales were taking more precedence over the food crisis we are having in our nation. Well, I finally googled it today and found out it will return to Friday nights starting on June 3rd. Phew! Anyone else miss watching it? I don’t watch a lot of TV, but I really looked forward to that show each week. Can’t wait until it’s back!

Well, it’s early for once and I am off to get some reading done, per usual. Night!

2 responses to “Trying new fitness classes

  1. That class sounds great, I need to check out my Y schedule to see if it’s being offered there. I almost watched Jamie Oliver tonight, when I turned the TV on to watch Glee and flipped past it, but Glee won out :)

  2. Yes, DWTS does take precedence over our nation’s food crisis. It’s all about making a buck, not making us healthy and happier with our lives. Just watch mindless TV with mindless commercials and forget about your troubles so that maybe you won’t do something about it. But yes, it will be on after the May sweeps.

Leave a Reply

