Strawberry Rhubarb Crunch

Like I said earlier today, I had other things get in the way of blogging over the last two days. It didn’t help that I worked 10 hour work days yesterday and today. So, I’ll catch you all up on my Sunday post, which I intended to write until the lightning storms started!

On Sunday, I forced myself to relax a bit more before I cut our grass. I read Water for Elephants outside because it was so beautiful out.

I also ate lunch outside, which was nice. I need to take advantage of eating outside more before the mosquitoes come!

salad with tofu, iced coffee al fresco

After lunch, we went to my brother and sister-in-law’s house to pick up tomato plants! My brother has a huge garden that takes up most of his backyard. He already had broccoli, brussell sprouts and asparagus planted. I wish we could have a huge garden like that! We also got a ton of rhubarb, so I came home and thought about making a strawberry rhubarb pie later in the week and then it struck me that I should make a strawberry rhubarb crunch instead because I most likely had all of the ingredients for that, and I did!

rhubarb

strawberry rhubarb crumble in mixing bowl

I used this recipe and it turned out really well. Kind of sweet, so next time I make it, I will use less sugar.

strawberry rhubarb crumble

strawberry rhubarb crumble

I’ve been eating the crumble for dessert all week and piled on top of Chobani vanilla yogurt for breakfast.

strawberry rhubarb crumble, chobani vanilla, coffee

I also bought some pretty flowers on Sunday!

pink daisy

red daisy

I don’t normally plant flowers, but I love the sight of them so much and wanted cheerful, summery ones that would last all summer, so I got daisies and Celosia.

spring flowers

flowers

Celosia Ice Cream Cherry

On Sunday night, we experienced some really bad thunderstorms and had the scariest lightning strike close to our house. It shook our whole house and freaked everyone out, especially the cats. I decided not to blog because it wasn’t a good idea to have my laptop plugged in at this point in the evening.

Today was pretty typical and so was yesterday. I decided not to take pics of my food and post them since I was behind anyway in general.

My workout yesterday was on the Cybex and I lifted weights. Tonight, I biked and lifted weights.

Wow, this week is flying by and I only have two more days of work left and then a long, glorious four day weekend! Tomorrow evening, I probably won’t blog because I am going to the Taste of Home cooking show. Should be great and I will share everything I learned!

What is your favorite way to use rhubarb in a recipe? I need ideas to use the rest of the rhubarb up or it’s getting cut up and put in the freezer!

4 responses to “Strawberry Rhubarb Crunch

  1. pawsitivelife

    I have been keeping my eye for rhubarb in stores…but its not there yet. When it arrives Im making a starwberry and rhubard crumble :)

  2. ohh that crunch looks wonderful! :) I do love rhubarb although I rarely cook is myself. My mom used to stew it with a little sugar and water and then we would put it all over homemade pancakes. Simply amazing! :) Yey for dining al fresco! :)

  3. I’ve never made anything with rhubarb! I love it tho so I def should!

  4. hey, you could try rhubarb marmalade (a historic recipe). Peel rhubarb and cut up into pieces. Layer a pan with rhubarb, then sugar, then rhubarb then sugar and so forth until you have used up all the rhubarb. Let it sit overnight. The next day put it all in a pot with some water (not a huge amount, you can add more as you cook it). Let it cook down into a mess. Jar it and let it cool. It is supposed to gel on its own, but it is a recipe from the 1850s.

    I’d personally, for the modern update, put it in small freezer containers, let them cool down and gel, then label and freeze like freezer jam.

Leave a Reply

