Garden time!

Craig and I took full advantage of our day off and slept in until 8:20 today. The cats were pissed off when I went to feed them. It was an hour and 20 minutes past their feeding time, so I don’t blame them.

Since we have some overripe bananas, I decided to use one for stovetop oats.

coffee, stovetop oats

After lounging around for a bit, we went to Stein Garden and Gifts to get some vegetable plants for our container garden.

I couldn’t resist taking pictures of pretty flowers and plants.

flowers

IMG_0014

IMG_0002

IMG_0012

A True Wisconsin Native plant!

True Wisconsin Native Prairie Dock

We picked out six plants to add to the tomato plants we already had at home.

me with plants at Stein's

Craig with plants at Stein's

This story was funnier to experience in person, but I helped an old Italian couple and then they thought I worked at Stein’s. They were asking an actual Stein’s worker where the basil plants were and she told them in the first greenhouse. Well, we had just come from there and those basil plants were horrible. We had picked up ours from the freshest batch of plants that were recently delivered, because we got that tip from a helpful Stein’s worker. I stopped the man and told him there were better basil plants in another area and then after his wife was finally convinced I was being helpful, she followed us to the area. When I showed him the basil, they spoke Italian to each other and then he asked me in Italian where the parsley was. I replied that I didn’t work there and it was probably in that first greenhouse where the herbs were though. He kept speaking Italian to me and he really had no clue that I understood him, but it was fun to experience listening to him and testing my knowledge of the language. The funny thing was that Craig watched the end of The Godfather II this morning and I was speaking Italian all morning because once I hear it, I start remembering certain words and phrases.

Of course, being that it’s Memorial Day weekend and everyone is planting their gardens and flowers this weekend, it was packed. We stood in a long line, but it moved quickly.

IMG_0015

Then it was time to mix up soil from last year, put it in the pots and plant everything!

plants

Basil and Green Pepper

We planted two green pepper plants (I will wait for some to turn to red), cilantro, basil, two roma tomatoes, two yellow small tomatoes, one cherry tomato, & a yellow hot pepper.

me with garden 2

This is our second year container gardening. We had good luck with it last year, so I hope it warms up soon around here and these plants do well! I’ll keep you posted and definitely will note when I use garden veggies in my recipes.

container garden

I ate the rest of my Qdoba burrito and hoped it wouldn’t upset my stomach. Of course, I probably shouldn’t have added Frank’s Red Hot to upset my stomach, but it really never seems to do that despite what others think.

I enjoyed lunch with iced coffee.

burrito, iced coffee, Frank's Red Hot

And I thought I would show you the cute t-shirt I got for $6 at Wal-Mart last weekend. It’s the Danskin Active Now brand. A perfect shirt for yoga because it’s longer and nice and loose.

Wal-Mart Danskin Active Now shirt

It’s still gorgeous out, so I am going to lay on the couch, enjoy the cool breeze and read my book.

Tonight, I am going to go to Zumba at 6:30 and maybe I’ll do some weight lifting before that too. Hope you have a great start to your holiday weekend!

3 responses to “Garden time!

  1. That shirt is so cute and looks so comfy, $6 is awesome!

    Yey for more plants, I’m so jealous! :) I can’t wait to see what you grow! :)

  2. Nice garden stuff! I’m finally going to plant mine this weekend too! I container gardened right out of college when I was living in a rented subdivision house that had NO place to plant anything–some of the best tomatoes I ever had came out of those containers :) Have a good weekend!

  3. Happy August to you and Craig and keep your green thumbs moving!

    Cheers!

Leave a Reply

