A happy bike rider

Happy Memorial Day to all that have served our country and fought for our freedom.

While yesterday was not very productive, today definitely was. We woke up late again, so getting up at 5:30 tomorrow is going to hurt!

We both meditated, I made blueberry pancakes, and then we went for a nice walk before it got too hot.

blueberry pancakes

blueberry pancakes

I did some stuff around the house, like bring up my bike from the basement and accessorized it with this nice Bell bag to store my cell phone, keys, sunscreen, etc. in.

Bell Road Stash handle bar bag

I was so glad to have found this bike bag last summer, because the ones that sit under your seat just didn’t work with my bike. Also, those are never big enough for all of the stuff I like to take on my ride. Plus, this one was a great price.

Trek 7100 bike

Craig planted green bean seeds, so we’ll see how they do.

Craig planting green beans

Craig outside planting seeds

Since I was already sweaty and gross from our walk, I went to the gym to do a full circuit of weights, some ab work on the ball, and about 20 minutes on the Precor 100i, which I hadn’t been on in a while. I was definitely feeling it in my legs after about 5 minutes! My new “smart” goal at the gym is to switch up the machines I use. There is actually a board about smart goals up at the YMCA this month and it made me think about incorporating a new goal for my time at the gym. I know that switching up your fitness routine leads to faster results, so I decided that was my goal.

I was craving a smoothie when I got back from the Y. I threw in protein powder, strawberries, a banana and skim milk.

strawberry banana protein smoothie

It was so flippin’ hot out today, so we stayed inside the house where it was only a bit cooler. I read The Help and I am enjoying the story so far.

The Help Kathryn Stockett

When it had cooled off a bit, I went on a bike ride and it felt good to get outside on a bike! I love bike riding and really do wish I could bike to work every day on a safe route. I got this Trek 7100 bike last summer and I couldn’t be happier with it. I’ve always been a Trek girl. Gotta support products made in my home state!

Trek bike with bell bag

I wasn’t really hungry for dinner because of the warmer temperatures. But I had to eat something and I decided I needed some veggies in my diet today. I made a nice salad with spinach, feta, grape tomatoes, cucumber, broccoli & carrots. I also topped it with some Mural of Flavor Penzey’s spice because I have found that particular spice is perfect on veggies.

salad

It’s almost 9 and that means it’s almost bedtime for me! Aaah, I wish every weekend was a four day one. It has been so nice being off of work. At least I’ll have a four day weekend to look forward in mid-June before the summer months get very busy for me at work.

Hope you enjoyed your Memorial Day!

5 responses to “A happy bike rider

  1. loving those fresh pancakes!

  2. Those pancakes look amazing!

    I’m loving the bag for your bike. I seriously need something like that for mine! I gotta put the icecream money somewhere! ahaha

  3. mmmm, loving those pancakes and your salad!

  4. Hee, hee, when I started training this year for RAGBRAI and got my new bike (Trek also, bought at the brand new bike shop that opened in town, love supporting local businesses) I realized I needed something to carry things on my bike. Guess what I got? Yup, the exact same one you have. So funny. Happy riding. I wish you could find a safe route too. I am hoping to ride from home to work near the end of the summer (22 miles). I think I can do it. I’ve gone on two 20 mile rides and it isn’t too hard, just long.

    • That is weird! Love that bag–it’s great and it was so much cheaper than the ones at Wheel and Sprocket and roomier too.

      Wow, good luck with the long bike ride home from work on those country roads. Be safe. I know you can do it because you are one determined lady!

Leave a Reply

