Happy and lucky

It was tough getting out of bed this morning! We woke up to Karma pounding away at the baby gates and meowing–before my alarm went off at 5:30. At least the little guy still has energy because we had another health scare with him over the weekend. He was struggling to breathe and was coughing a lot on Sunday. I hope he hangs in there and overcomes what the vets thought about his condition.

Karma the cat

Anyway, breakfast was a leftover homemade pancake and Chobani with preserves and fresh blueberries.

IMG_4782

It was so hot out today and I decided to wear a dress to work. Everyone was surprised how dressed up I was. I guess I am usually a scrub!? No, I am not, but I usually just wear pants and a top. I dress kind of plain like most people at my workplace do. I probably got about 10 comments ranging from “Lisa is wearing a dress and heels!” to “do you have a fancy meeting today?” to “is Craig taking you out on a hot date tonight?” to “Craig better watch it when you are wearing a dress like that.” I was also told my dress flattered my figure and that my legs were tan (thank god for Sephora self-tanning spray that I put on before the wedding this weekend). I am pretty pale, so the tan comment probably was the nicest one I got all day!

Lunch was leftover pizza, carrots and a granny smith apple. Oh and I snagged a swedish fish gummy for dessert.

lunch 5-31-11

I read The Help outside on my break for a bit and it was getting so good that I didn’t want to put it down! I have to say that it is weird to read out of a real book after reading a couple on the kindle. I miss the kindle, but can appreciate normal books too.

I had a major chocolate craving strike at work around 2 p.m. and bought a chocolate chip cookie. I really wanted to bake some yesterday, but the hot temps prevented me from doing so because it was already near 90 in our house before we put our air on.

After work, I came home and snacked on peanut butter from the jar, some chocolate (notice a theme here?) and then I ate a pumpernickel roll with swiss rye cheese.

I went to the gym and cranked out 15 minutes on the bike, 25 minutes walking and running on the treadmill and some leg weights. My ankle was really bothering me while walking on the treadmill and surprisingly, running didn’t bother it at all. You probably are wondering what will happen with the 10k I signed up for. I will most likely just walk/run it. We have to do better than a 15 minute mile pace, so that should be feasible. My friend/co-worker who is also signed up for it agreed to probably walk/run with me, so that will be good!

And because I love being outside and being with my husband, we went for a 20 minute walk when I got back from the gym! A little teenage boy told me he loved me on the walk and Craig yelled back “I love her too!” Aaah, too much love in the air tonight! I was really chatty on our walk and it’s because I was just happy today when I got back from work. I’ll be honest, I wasn’t too happy to be back at work all day, but I appreciate my life outside of work even more then.

It ended up being my lucky day! I won a fantastic giveaway for this book from Kitchen Conundrum. I love to bake and prefer it over cooking, so this win is perfect for me!

GMBB-Cover-Image-e1305584055853

I am sure I will be baking some recipes from the book soon and can share the recipes and thoughts on them with you then! Do you prefer baking over cooking too or do you like both equally? Maybe I like baking because I love sweets.

On that note, I am going to sign off of here and read some blogs, plus my book.

3 responses to “Happy and lucky

  1. I definitely prefer cooking over baking. Baking is so exact and I like to add my own spin on recipes instead of having to add certain things in the exact measurements.

    I feel like everyone is reading The Help, I keep hearing about it!

  2. aww that’s so cute! :) Sounds like a wonderful day.

    mmm chocolate chip cookies! :)

  3. cooking cooking cooking ..for me at least. I cannot bake! but, I try sometimes ( and it never turns out well haha)

Leave a Reply

