‘Tis the season for graduation parties

It’s just been a typical Sunday around here. Checking in to say hi and give you a recap of my day.

The movie I watched last night, “How Do You Know?,” was disappointing. I expected it to be and set myself up to not love it. I know a movie is bad when I keep it on, but barely watch it and read blogs in Google reader on my iPod. What can I say–all of your blogs are a lot more interesting than that movie was! I feel bad but due to google reader and how long it takes me to comment using my iPod, I haven’t been leaving a lot of blog comments recently. I’m reading your sites, just not commenting!

Speaking of the blogosphere, that’s exactly what the first story on CBS’s Sunday Morning was today! I was so excited to watch it. They showed The Pioneer Woman’s site (which I actually don’t read, but I am sure many food bloggers do), but didn’t actually feature her directly in the story. The story also included a very successful wedding blog called Style Me Pretty. The blogger from that site, Abby, makes enough money to support her family, she employs her husband, and I think 12 other people! How awesome to have built a business through blogging and be able to do what you love every day from the comfort of your own home!

While watching the show, I had a bagel thin with earth balance on one half and strawberry cream cheese on the other and coffee.

bagel thin and coffee

We finally had a sunny and somewhat warmer day around here, which was perfect for the graduation party we headed to at Grant Park, on the south side of Milwaukee. It was a party for Craig’s cousin who is actually heading to college and the air force academy in Colorado next week. Smart and successful girl!

I had a hot dog (which tasted good with onions and tomatoes), two different types of potato salads, a pickle, and a huge chunk of refreshing watermelon. Later on, I went back for some cake, a rice krispie bar, and some grilled corn on the cob, which was the first time I had corn this season and it hit the spot!

picnic food

Craig had a hamburger and some cheetos. Yeah, not so healthy hubby. :)

IMG_0003

After settling in and visiting with my in-laws, my sister in-law Lisa, Craig, and I went on a little walk through the woods. We tried to get to the beach, but the bridges were closed.

Craig and I at Grant Park

Lake Michigan

Lisa and Craig at Grant Park

We found this cute little guy hanging out on a wooden post.

caterpillar

After the party, I really wanted to go to Woodman’s for Chobani and for salsa ingredients because I was in need of both and because I just love Woodman’s.

woodman's

Unfortunately, they were out of my huge tub of non-fat Chobani, but I got a 2% one, a strawberry flavored tub, and about 8 flavored smaller Chobanis (lots of mango and pomegranate).

I picked up some herbed tofu that I loved last time I got it from Woodman’s. When I took this picture, I noticed it appears to be from a local company, so that’s cool. Gotta support those local businesses!

bountiful bean herb tofu

And I wanted to try this Gardein thai trio product.

gardein thai trio

That about covers my Sunday. I also caught up with my brother who lives in the San Francisco area. We hadn’t talked in ages, so it was nice to hear what’s been new with him. I am jealous because he is planting tons of fruit trees in his backyard.

Time to meditate, maybe hit the gym and watch another movie, “Life As We Know It.” I also need to do some veggie cutting and tofu cooking prep work for lunches this week. But, it’s nice to know I only have a three day work week to prepare for and then any leftover prep items can be incorporated into snacks and meals when I am home on Thursday and Friday.

Adios mis lectores (I hope that’s correct for “goodbye my readers”). I have been speaking Spanish at work more trying to teach a co-worker custodian how to pronounce certain words. It’s been fun testing my knowledge of the language again.

2 responses to “‘Tis the season for graduation parties

  1. I thought that How Do you know was really horrible too. I could’ve left the theater early and not cared one little bit.

    and that story of the blogger is PRETTY amazing.

  2. I had the same trouble at Woodmans this past week, and also settled for 2%. Hoping for better luck this week, because I’m really loving smoothies for breakfast.

Leave a Reply

