One down, two to go

My title refers to the fact that I am done with one work day and only have two more to go for the week! Wahooo! I am already making lots of lists for what I want to get done on my four days off, including updating my blog, writing and scheduling some posts, cleaning, shopping (maybe the outlets, we’ll see), and hitting the gym with my mama on Thursday morning.

Rewind to last night–we made homemade salsa that had cilantro from our garden and the standard ingredients. It didn’t impress Craig, but I liked it and it tasted fresh. Not sure how to change it to make it better next time. Maybe less jalapenos because our mouths were on fire?!

homemade salad, blue corn chips

I watched “Life As We Know It” and it was just ok. Another movie that didn’t really impress me. I guess I am more of a foreign film and documentary fan than anything. Anyone seen good, new movies from either type of genre that they can recommend?

Breakfast this morning was Chobani 2% plain yogurt with Bonne Maman wild blueberry preserves, fresh blueberries and chia seeds. It was my first time trying the 2% plain and I couldn’t really tell much of a difference between that and the non-fat. When I can find the non-fat at Woodman’s again, I’ll get it instead.

coffee,  yogurt, chia seeds, blueberries

I had my “usual” of iced coffee with almond syrup and half & half at work.

iced coffee

Lunch was a big salad filled with mixed greens, feta cheese, grape tomatoes, red onion, and red peppers. I also had a date and a vanilla Activia yogurt.

Vanilla Activia yogurt, salad, dates

After work, I found the book I won from Kitchen Conundrum in my mailbox, which excited me. I paged through it and the recipes looked awesome. Can’t wait to make some of them soon!

Green Market Baking Book

I meditated and then snacked before heading to the gym. I had a bit of Starbucks ice cream. Love coffee ice cream and especially this flavor!

Starbucks Java Chip frappucino

I also snacked on some TJ’s cheese & Jalapeno Jack Sun Chips. I needed something in my belly, but didn’t want to eat too much before going to the gym.

My workout was 22 minutes on the elliptical while watching HGTV, 18 minutes on the bike while reading Glamour, I lifted some weights and I did some ab work on the ball and on the mat.

Dinner was a TJ’s veggie masala burger without a bun and some grapes. You’ve seen it all before, so that went unpictured.

Better be off to read some blogs and then get to bed in about an hour! Tomorrow, I am waking up earlier than normal to go to the 5:30 a.m. Body Pump class with my friend Laurie. She just joined my YMCA and I am excited to be able to go to some classes with her. She’s never done yoga either, so we’ll have to hit up one of those classes soon to show her how great it is!

9 responses to “One down, two to go

  1. I’m heading out at 5:30 am for a bike ride tomorrow myself, so need to get to sleep. I wasn’t actually in charge of the work event this past week, which was nice. So, it seems it went well, we definitely got coverage, but our Sunday visitation (for which I had to be in to supervise the day) wasn’t any bigger than a regular June weekend. So much for publicity. Look at you so lucky to be almost done with the work week. I’ll be done Thursday!

  2. yey for a short week! Are you heading away for a vacation? :)

    I love the look of your salad so wonderfully veggie full :)
    There is a foreign film that I LOVE and I can’t remember the name! It’s about the airlifting of Ethipian Jews to Israel and the subsequent adoption and life of one of the ethiopian boys. I will see if I can find it, it really is one of the best movies I’ve ever seen. It just touched my heart.

    Hope you have a great early am workout! :)

    • No vacation, just some much needed days off before things get very busy at work and difficult to escape from.

      Oooh, sounds like a good movie. Hope you can find the title of it! Thanks! ;)

  3. You know its bound to be a long week when you start counting on Monday…luckily its only a 4 day week for me too! I can hardly wait until Thursday!

    Happy short week! :)

  4. Wow, 5:30am! You’re crazy…in a good way :) Recent Netflix DVDs I watched and really liked include: Coco Chanel, Waiting for Superman, Waking Sleeping Beauty, Sketches of Frank Gehry, and The September Issue.

    • Thanks for the recommendations Karis! I have seen and liked Coco Chanel, but not the others. I am looking forward to some new movies to search for!

      5:30 am is crazy. You said the same thing my mom did when I told her I was going to the gym at that time. But, it was really nice to get a good workout in early in the day.

  5. Have you seen The Red Violin? I thought that was a neat movie and now it’s on Netflix Instant :)

Leave a Reply

