7.68 more miles on the Oak Leaf Trail

Happy Sunday–what’s left of it at least!

I made french toast for us this morning. Mine was topped with nutella, raspberries, and powdered sugar. Yummy!

french toast, nutella, raspberries, coffee

Since the weather has been gorgeous here this weekend, Craig and I finally went on our first bike ride together of the summer.

I tried the Gatorade G Series Fit series today. I will get it free via rebate from Walgreens, so I figured it was worth trying and reviewing for the blog.

G Series Fit

First, I started with one prime bar since I knew we were not going too far on our ride. It was tasty.

G fit prime

G Fit prime

We loaded the bikes onto Craig’s car and went to Silver Spring Drive to leave off where we ended our ride last summer on the Oak Leaf trail. Craig wants to ride the entire trail slowly over the years, which is fine with me because it also forces us to bike in areas we might not necessarily choose to, like today’s ride. It was nice, don’t get me wrong, it just wasn’t the most scenic (except if you count the bridge with the train above it).

Oak Leaf trail trains and bridge

The only snag we hit today was some water on the trail and we had to go around it by getting on some city sidewalks. Right before I took this photo, there was a mama duck with her babies in the water and they were so cute! I am sad I didn’t get them on camera.

Oak Leaf trail water

We took a break at mile 4 and I tried some of the Melon Pear gatorade drink. Both Craig and I really liked this flavor.

However, this is kind of gross-my honest opinion: drinking gatorade in general brings to mind the awful colonoscopies I have had to have for the last three years. Psychologically, I hate the prep part of the colonoscopy and drinking gatorade or powerade is crucial to keep electrolytes in my body, I know this. You just get to a point where your stomach is so full and you can’t drink any more of the stuff. Drinking it today still conjured up those bad memories.

G Series Fit gatorade melon pear drink, bike

IMG_0017_1

I also munched on a few almonds.

almonds, bike

Craig (unintentionally) looking pretty serious as he ate a cherry pie larabar for some fuel.

Craig and larabar

We biked 7.68 miles in the end. Not bad!

Sigma bike computer 7.68 miles

Once home, I tried the Mixed Berry recover drink and it was my least favorite of the Gatorade G series fit products. The flavor was just off. I couldn’t even drink any more because it was so gross.

After having pizza for lunch, I was tired so I laid on the couch for an hour and crashed. Then I just read a book and magazine outside, made salsa, and did some housework.

Making salsa seems to be our new Sunday night tradition! This batch turned out better thanks to lime juice and fresh garlic. I added some lime to my woodchuck cider and it hit the spot. A nice summery treat!

salsa, chips, Woodchuck hard cider

salsa, chips

Time to prep for the week ahead! I am hoping to get more sleep this week in general. Must get to bed earlier from now on.

Later!

One response to “7.68 more miles on the Oak Leaf Trail

  1. I haven’t had woodchuck cider in SO long! It used to be my drink of choice when we would go out. I’m not a beer drinker, but I absolutely loved the stuff. It’s so good!! I’ve also been meaning to try the G-series items so I’m glad to hear what you liked/disliked. Looks like you had a great day!! I need to invest in a bike. I think I would enjoy taking rides every so often :)

Leave a Reply

