Noticing a gap in my diet today

Glad Monday is over! It was hard to wake up this morning. I think I hit the snooze button three or four times.

I was in the mood for cereal for breakfast, so I tried Raisin Bran crunch. For some reason, I’ve been having cravings for Raisin Bran and I got a good deal on some with double coupon days on Saturday. I didn’t think the “crunch” was a whole lot different than the regular though.

Raisin Bran Crunch cereal, coffee

At work, I had an almond iced coffee and a cinnamon mini bagel just plain and warmed up in the microwave.

Lunch today was thrown together quickly, which is why it lacks veggies. I had a pb & j sandwich, a peach chobani and Stacy’s pita chips. I also had a lovely German chocolate Ritter sport mini bar.

lunch-pb & j, peach chobani, pita chips

After meditating and “being vocal” about my day (my way of saying complaining), I hit the gym and that made me feel better right away. I did 30 minutes on the elliptical and completed some pretty tough intervals while watching House Hunters International. I then lifted weights and did some abs. A pretty normal workout, but I felt energized at the end.

Dinner was some of the spinach I got at the farmer’s market (which seemed unusually dirty compared to spinach I have bought from farmers before. I know veggies and fruit are sometimes going to be dirty, but this was very dirty), red peppers, and I topped it with a Morningstar black bean veggie burger. This was a great & quick meal. You’ll be seeing more of this on the blog!

IMG_4989

Enjoyed the meal outside while the hubby watered our plants with fertilizer.

It was pretty nice out this evening, so we went for a walk around the neighborhood. And finally, we read outside together. Craig is reading the sample of the “127 Hours” book, Between a Rock and a Hard Place, and is enjoying it so far. I didn’t comment on the movie on any of my weekend posts. It was pretty good. We could not watch the really gross parts! I definitely want to prepare for the worst whenever we go anywhere in nature now or on a long road trip.

So, after writing this post and reviewing the preview, I noticed something. I didn’t eat any fruit today and I am not happy about that. I mean, I have lots of it in my fridge, but I just didn’t incorporate fruit into my meals. I guess you could sort of count the raisins in my cereal and the peaches in my chobani yogurt. This is why I like to blog my meals because I see what I am lacking and also what may be affecting my tummy troubles. I better go eat a bowl of raspberries!

That’s all folks. It’s already 9 p.m. and almost time for me to hit the hay.

4 responses to “Noticing a gap in my diet today

  1. hope you’re enjoying the giveaway!

    its funny how the gym makes you feel so much better…it totally did the trick for me too yesterday :)

  2. haha being vocal love it! and that salad looks grrrrrrreat :)

  3. Gack! I could not watch that movie (or read the book) at all too scary.

  4. I agree that blogging is such a great way to evaluate the quality of your diet. I wouldn’t worry too much about one day without fruit but it is a great reminder! :) I love your idea of crumbling up a veggie burger on your salad. Mm mm! :)

Leave a Reply

