Fresh Healthy Eatery review

A new healthy cafe opened up at Grand Avenue mall in downtown Milwaukee last month and I tried it out for lunch today. It’s called Fresh Healthy Eatery and Juice Bar and serves juices, smoothies, soups and sandwiches.

20120511-170028.jpg

After checking out the juices and sandwiches, I decided on a carrot, beet, pineapple and apple juice and the veggie delight sandwich.

20120511-170033.jpg

Unfortunately, when I got to the counter to order, I learned that because they were out of avocado, I couldn’t order the veggie delight. I had read reviews about the restaurant where this same thing happened to others. That probably needs to change if they want repeat customers. I hope that the next time I go back, I am able to order the veggie delight.

Instead, I went with the other vegetarian sandwich, the Grilled Tofu. It had grilled herb tofu, homemade sun-dried tomato pesto and is served on flax seed bread.

The seating area is spacious and perfect for the office workers coming and going quickly during their lunch break, like I did.

20120511-170038.jpg

Here was my yummy sandwich and drink! I really liked the way the tofu was prepared, the flavor of the sundried tomato paste and the flax bread. It’s definitely something I could recreate at home.

The juice tasted odd at first. I think I would have preferred it without the pineapple. It grew on me and I quickly gulped it down.

20120511-170042.jpg

Liked: healthy options, friendly staff, cleanliness
Disliked: not being able to order what I wanted and the prices. The juice was $4.49, which is pretty typical for Milwaukee. The sandwiches were a bit expensive and probably should have been about $2 less each, in my opinion.

I would recommend this cafe to those looking for a healthy option in downtown Milwaukee during their lunch break. They also have a cafe in Mequon, which may have more options because they are catering to a different crowd there.

3 responses to “Fresh Healthy Eatery review

  1. How nice to have another healthy place Downtown! Is this within the food court or a different area of the mall?
    I’m going to have to check this out :)

    • It’s near the eastern end of the mall–not by the food court. It’s located where the Chocolate Factory used to be apparently and above the TJ Maxx, on the second floor. Hope you enjoy it!

  2. Hello, quick question.

    Do you know any juice bars near 31st and Rawson?

    Doing a detox with my bestie for new years. I work close to the grand so grabbing a juice for lunch will be easy for me. On the other hand, my bestie works off 31st and Rawson. Could you help?

Leave a Reply

