Back to square one

My title is referring to my ankle injury. I feel like I am back to square one with where I was 6 months ago. I am wearing my ankle brace, biking at the gym instead of going on the elliptical or running, balancing on the bosu and feeling very unstable, taking tylenol and I am back to elevating my foot at work. Not where I wanted to be the day after I decided to trade up from a dinky gym to bigger and hopefully better one.

I am not complaining. I am simply stating the above as a reminder that I must keep up with my strength training and exercising in general.

I woke up this morning to hear my husband in pain. He hurt his back at work yesterday and the pain was so bad that he had to stay home today. Poor baby. I feel so bad for him. I told him “now that we just turned 30, we’re falling apart!”

I made a fried egg on an english muffin and drizzled some Frank’s Red Hot Sauce on top for breakfast.

I was feeling tired mid morning, so I snacked on some tylenol, craisins and half of a cocoa mole Larabar, with some instant coffee.

At lunch, I ate most of the last of the Spinach Lasagna leftovers and realized I hadn’t snapped a photo. It was a really small portion anyway. I was craving fresh veggies badly and the red pepper slices & baby carrots satisfied my craving. And the grapes were yummy per usual.

Dinner was not the healthiest. We like to make quick dinners sometimes and that includes Pasta Roni white cheese and noodles, like we had tonight. Since Craig’s back is still killing him, I “cooked” if you want to call it that!

One of the reasons I started this blog was to keep my healthy eating and fitness in check. I can admit that while looking back on my meals this week, I realized that I need more veggies in my diet. This is unique to this week, as when I have them in the house, I’ll eat my veggies daily. I have been putting off a major trip to the grocery store, but hopefully I will make it to Trader Joe’s tomorrow after work and then to our larger grocery store for other items on Saturday, including veggies and fruits.

I went to the gym to bike tonight. I biked almost 6 miles in about 30 minutes. I don’t know the exact amount because the bike turned off after 27 minutes and then I wanted to keep going because I was watching HGTV (we don’t have cable so I am an HGTV addict at the gym). I had to find out if the couple got the house they wanted! I also lifted some arm weights and balanced on the BOSU while holding onto something. It was hard to balance on my bad left ankle!

Dr. Oz is on and he hooks me with his approachable viewpoint on health. Off to pay more attention to the show!

Leave a Reply

