Where did the weekend go?

I am sitting here on a Sunday night, full and satisfied from my yummy dinner, wondering where the weekend went.

I woke up and decided to open up the Libby’s pumpkin puree to make pumpkin oatmeal. I found a few recipes online and decided to go with making it, even though I didn’t have all spice and walnuts, as many of the recipes recommended.

My own version included:

    IMG_1831

  • approximately 1/2 cup Quaker oats
  • 1/4 cup pumpkin puree
  • almost 1 cup of skim milk
  • cinnamon
  • greek yogurt on top
  • dried currants (instead of raisins)
  • maple syrup (you can use honey or agave instead)

I think the all spice would have been a nice addition, but this was still good. Not overly pumpkin tasting, but at least pumpkin is nutritious with Vitamin A and Fiber. I liked the greek yogurt and currants a lot.
IMG_1832

I got ready for the day and headed out to shop with my mom. We went to so many places in about three hours! I was exhausted at the end. My ankle was killing me. All I ended up with was a new pair of comfy slip on black shoes. They look like boots, but sometimes I don’t want to wear knee high boots, as they get kind of warm. Oh and I got a free “Arizona Dreaming” spice jar at Penzey’s. Love all of the free spices I have accumulated from there!

Lunch with mom was at my old workplace. I worked at Einstein Bagels when I was 16! I loved making sandwiches and coffee drinks. I guess I didn’t know it then, but I was sort of a closet foodie, because I liked to experiment by making different bagel sandwiches for my free meal at lunch.

IMG_0010

Mom had an apple crumble bagel and a cup of coffee.

IMG_0005

I had a bagel thin breakfast sandwich with egg whites, mushrooms, asparagus and swiss cheese. It was delish and something so easy to make at home!

IMG_0009

For an after lunch sweet, I had half of a Peanut Butter Cookie Larabar.

After I got home and rested my legs for a while, I decided that I was craving veggies for dinner. I picked one of our last good cucumbers from our container garden and got started on chopping up my dinner.

I made a whole wheat tortilla wrap with cucumbers, a bit of tomato, kalamata olives, provolone cheese, red onions, hummus, cooked mushrooms, and some Penzey’s Garden Salad seasoning on top. I also added some Frank’s Red Hot for an extra kick. I guess my dinner was sort of greek and I didn’t set out to make it that way, those were just the ingredients I had that went together.
IMG_1835

Now I am just hanging out, watching Back to the Future 2 with Craig and guess I better go read the Sunday newspaper, since I didn’t have enough time for that this morning.

Leave a Reply

