Pumpkin Smoothie

Oh man! My muscles are aching. My back is especially hurting, but I am not sure if it’s from Boot Camp or from raking over the weekend. I get really bad back aches from raking this time of year.

Breakfast today was coffee and Island Vanilla Kashi cereal.

Lunch was more quinoa leftovers (I wasn’t sick of them yet) and baby carrots. After eating the baby carrots, I was so full. I didn’t end up eating the apple. I’ll save it for tomorrow as a snack or dessert. I did want some dark chocolate though, so I opted for that instead as my dessert today.

I wasn’t that hungry for dinner and didn’t really crave anything in particular, except pumpkin. I decided I have been craving a pumpkin latte, but I am too cheap to buy one. So, I settled for a Pumpkin smoothie topped with cinnamon.

Pumpkin Smoothie

As you saw in the photo above, I combined Trader Joe’s Organic canned pumpkin (about 1/2 cup), a fresh banana (other recipes recommend frozen, but this tasted good and I had a fresh to use up), skim milk, Trader Joe’s Organic Non-fat plain yogurt, pumpkin pie spice, a bit of ginger, vanilla extract and honey. Ginger and honey weren’t pictured, because I decided to add them after blending the first set of ingredients together. I never used to taste everything I made, but realize how important it is now. The honey was a nice addition to sweeten it up a bit. Yum!

I also snacked on some pita chips with hummus and then had about half of Craig’s whole wheat tortilla with cheese, salsa and steak strips.

Other bloggers show themselves eating with their spouses at dinner time. I know how important that is, but Craig and I rarely eat the same thing for dinner. I often eat healthier food and he doesn’t always like olives, mushrooms, etc. When we do eat the same food, it’s usually frozen pizza, mac and cheese and burritos (not so healthy choices). Do you always eat the same meal as your spouse? Who cooks in your house?

Because my muscles are aching, I was looking forward to a rest day when I got home from work. I did want to do something sort of active and instead of a walk, I opted to do Wii EA Active for 15 minutes. I like EA Active when I want to do a bit of exercising but don’t want to go to the gym (great for snowy or really cold days).

I did the following exercises. I didn’t complete the volleyball set, but I started it.

If you haven’t done EA Active before, you exercise with a Wiimote and a Nunchuck. The other tools are the Wiimote holder strap (which you wear on your thigh and tighten with a velcro strap) and a resistance band.

My only issue seems to be that the strap always want to fall off of my thigh!

When we first got this game, what struck me as being really impressive was the demonstrations of exercises. I don’t use them much anymore, but if I ever forget how to do a certain exercise, I can refer back to the demo.

Now dance!

I am watching Biggest Loser as I type, but I may turn it off and opt for reading a few magazines and the addictive Larsson book. I am way behind on my magazine reading! I think I have only paid for one subscription (Health) and the rest were free–Fitness, Glamour, People StyleWatch and my mom gives me Good Housekeeping to read. They all seem to pile up at once! I need to bring more to the gym to read while biking or walking.

Leave a Reply

