Millions of Peaches and South Indian Pumpkin Soup

Ok, I couldn’t resist. Last night, during our cool down at Boot Camp, our teacher played the song Peaches by the Presidents of the United States of America. I haven’t been able to get it out of my head since and I also craved peaches since hearing the song. All I had to satisfy my craving was a can of Dole All Natural peaches in the pantry, so I packed that up for lunch today. The band’s name is perfect for voting day, even though we’re not voting for President today, but for Senate, Governor, etc.

IMG_0007

Breakfast was Kashi Island Vanilla with coffee.

IMG_0001

It was my rest day from exercise, so we walked to the nearest school and voted. I had to register again because I haven’t voted since we got married. The name change thing seems to always come up, even a year and two months after I have been married!
Karma liked my “I voted” sticker. 🙂
IMG_0022
Dinner tonight was a new recipe! South Indian Pumpkin Soup.
IMG_2297

South Indian Pumpkin Soup

Ingredients:

  • 1 tsp vegetable oil
  • 2 tsp curry powder
  • 1  can pumpkin puree
  • 2 cups reduced-sodium vegetable broth or stock
  • 1 clove garlic
  • 1/8 tsp cayenne pepper
  • 1/3 cup orange juice
  • 1″ ginger, peeled and minced
  • 1/8 tsp nutmeg
  • 1 tsp kosher salt
  • 1/4 cup reduced-fat coconut milk
  • toasted pumpkin seeds for garnish (optional)

Instructions:

1) In a heavy saucepan, heat oil over medium-low heat. Stir in garlic, ginger and curry powder and cook for 1 minute, until fragrant.

2) Add vegetable stock/broth and coconut milk and turn heat to medium. Stir in pumpkin puree and orange juice, breaking up any clumps with a long-handled spoon.

3) Stir soup occasionally until heated through, about 5 minutes. Take soup off the heat and stir in salt, nutmeg and red pepper; taste for seasoning. Garnish bowls of soup with toasted pumpkin seeds (optional).

Nutritional content (per serving):

Calories: 34, Total fat: 1g, Cholesterol: 0mg, Sodium: 146mg, Carbs: 6g, Fiber: 2g, Sugar: 3g, Protein: 2g

The littlest things excite me. At work today, we got our YMCA Wellness at Work gym towel, water bottle and gym bag. You see, I bought a Gaiam bag that held my yoga mat and was the perfect size. Well, I never used it (because I wanted to see what my free Y bag would be like), so I will have to return that bag and keep this YMCA one. The Y one ended up being a great size and of really nice quality.

IMG_0016

IMG_0018

Off to watch the election results for a little bit. Hope you all voted!

Leave a Reply

