Memories of glühwein and Christmas markets

Aaah, I got the all clear from the physical therapist to do something other than bike at the gym! And of course I hit the elliptical right away when I went to the Y tonight and it was so nice. I missed the elliptical. Time flew by on it while I listened to my iPod and read the latest issue of Health magazine. I logged 35 minutes on there, lifted a full circuit of weights and biked for 17 minutes.

I was released from my doc and PT care today and that is a huge relief. I still have to be careful with both of my ankles, but the PT seemed to think I look pretty strong when she assessed me. I still need to ice and do exercises to strengthen my feet. I can handle that so I can regain my strength.

Breakfast this morning was Pumpkin Pie Oatmeal. It was tasty, of course!

pumpkin pie oatmeal and Christkindlmarkt cup

I enjoyed my coffee in the Christkindlmarkt or Christmas Market mug that I picked up at the German Christmas market in Chicago two years ago. Of course, a lovely cup of warm and spicy glühwein (gluehwein) originally came in the mug and drinking out of the glass this morning conjured up memories and smells that I miss dearly.

Christkindlmarkt cup Chicago 2008

When I lived in Europe, I loved visiting the Christmas markets in various cities, but the biggest one I went to was in Basel, Switzerland. I walked through the market all by myself and enjoyed the sights and smells. I bought my mom the perfect Christmas ornament at Kathe Wohlfahrt–a wooden sewing machine with little spools of threads and scissors tumbling from it (she’s a quilter and sewer). Then I bought myself a glühwein (mulled wine) and I seriously was very tipsy from it. I went to see the movie “Just Like Heaven” starring Reese Witherspoon (I can remember the German title, Solange du da bist, but never the English title) and totally felt weird at the movie theater. The glühwein was too good. 🙂

Anyway, I’ll stop dreaming of Europe and it’s lovely Christmas markets.

Lunch was leftover (garlicy) quinoa, a Stonyfield B-Healthy Strawberry Acai yogurt and baby carrots. I also had a craving for something sweet after, so I snacked on a few Trader Joe’s peanut butter filled pretzels.

I enjoyed my second day of having the Stonyfield B-healthy yogurt. My stomach has been upset this week and I need all the help I can get. When this is the case, the first food I always turn to is yogurt.

I had some cheesy noodles with Frank’s Red Hot sauce for dinner, plus a big apple dipped in almond butter.

We finished Shawshank Redemption tonight and the ending was so good! I don’t think I had ever seen the end, as none of it was familiar, but the beginning was.

Hope you had a good hump day. Only two more days this week and then next week is a three day week for me! Can’t wait for pumpkin pie, green bean casserole and sweet potatoes (sorry, but I am not big on the turkey, never have been).

Speaking of, I told my mom I would bring green bean or sweet potato casserole. Does anyone have a good, healthy recipe to share? I have seen some green bean casseroles that are healthified and don’t have the crunchy onions and mushroom soup as ingredients. My mom does not like that version, so I have to find another. Any help would be greatly appreciated!

Leave a Reply

