My first pomegranate

I/we got a lot done today. Love that feeling! I crossed a few things off my to do list. I’ll tell you about some of that in the next post.

I did get to yoga from 8:45-9:45 a.m. and lifted a few weights after. The yoga poses we did today were pretty similar to what my Thursday class had done. The teacher I had this morning is just a little more challenging because the poses flow more quickly.

When I got home, I broke open the POM pomegranate that has been sitting on our counter for weeks.

pomegranate

Until this morning, I had never opened up a pomegranate on my own or even had arils as far as I know. A couple of weeks ago, we had received a cute package from POM with a free pomegranate in it. I finally cut it open and enjoyed the arils in some oatmeal.

Here are some photos Craig took of the process:

After cutting off the crown

pomegranate

cutting pomegranate

pomegranate

IMG_2390

IMG_2391

cutting pomegranate

pomegranate

pomegranate

arils

pomegranate arils

pomegranate

pomegranate arils in water

pomegranate arils in oatmeal

oatmeal with pomegranate arils

As you could see from the photos, it was a messy process! I got juice on the wall, microwave, sink, my skin–basically everywhere. Be prepared for that! It also took a while to prepare, but I think the benefits of pomegranate outweigh the time it takes to get the arils out. The hardest part was separating the white membrane from the arils. Some floated to the top of that bowl, but some was stuck on the arils, so if you can get that off right away, that is even better.

The material that came with pom said that the arils will last in the fridge for two weeks. I know I’ll be enjoying them in cereal and on oatmeal and they probably won’t last in the fridge for two weeks.

Have you tried pomegranate arils? What did you think?

Leave a Reply

