Still sick

I woke up this morning after tossing and turning all night and decided to shower and attempt to go to work. My instinct in the morning was correct–I still felt very weak and tired and thought that I should call in sick. But, I tried to tough it out and went into work anyway.

Breakfast was the rest of the Banana Nut Cheerios. One of my goals for 2011 is to eat more fruit and protein for breakfast and not so many of these sugary cereals. Cheerios Banana Nut and coffee We had some major cleaning and reorganization to do at work and it was in a room that is humid and smelly. I can’t explain why it’s humid, otherwise that will giveaway where I work, but it’s really unbearable to be in that environment. I tried to balance being at my desk and in that room and even then, I felt so tired and weak.

I ate a Danish Kringle from Racine, trying to see if that would perk me up a bit. I also had some raw almonds.

danish kringle from Racine

Alas, around 11:15, I decided I couldn’t take being so out of it at work. I never function well after a day like yesterday of nausea, sleepiness and a bad headache. I told my boss I was heading home sick and hit the road. I stopped by Subway on my way home for a footlong ham and cheese with spinach, tomatoes, cucumbers, pickles, black olives, and tried something new–their buffalo sauce. Not impressed. I’ll stick to Frank’s Red hot from now on.

subway sandwich I was so hungry that I ate 6 inches, let my stomach rest a bit and then ate half of the other 6 inch. Geez, my body sure needed food badly! After lunch, I sat in the glorious sunshine shining in our living room and relaxed a little. I had some of this Bolthouse Farms Berry Boost smoothie. That hit the spot!Bolthouse Farms Berry Boost

And I had a Moser Roth English Toffee chocolate bar.

Moser Roth English Toffee Milk Chocolate

I also enjoyed two Raspberry kisses. My mom makes these for Christmas every year and my siblings and I love them but the in-laws “just don’t get it” as one of them said on Sunday at our Christmas celebration.

raspberry kiss

When I laid down on our couch, two little kitties joined me and held me hostage. I fell asleep with them in the sunshine. Karma always sleeps by my belly.

Karma sleeping

Karma sleeping with his teeth out.

cat and tooth hanging out

Tanzi cuddles up where my legs curve.

Tanzi

I didn’t want to sleep all afternoon because then I struggle with sleeping at
night, so a little nap with the cats was perfect. I hope I wake up tomorrow feeling much better than today! It’s no fun being sick.

4 responses to “Still sick

  1. Ok, I’m not a cat person but Karma is absolutely adorable!
    I don’t go to Subway too often but I’ve heard their buffalo sauce
    sucks which is depressing. I drench everything in hot sauce and am
    forever on a quest for a good one. Hope you kick whatever you have
    soon!

  2. I passed on your kind words to Karma, Paige and simplyshaka! When we go to the vet (he’s the kitty that is sick), they always say he is so handsome. I am quite taken with his baby face and hilarious antics too. 😉

Leave a Reply

