So long 2010

Happy last day of 2010! It’s been a good year and I am looking forward to what 2011 brings.

I have had a nice, relaxing day off from work so far.

I made a more elaborate breakfast, since I had the time and all.

I put together a breakfast burrito with scrambled eggs, pinto beans, a little colby jack cheese, Frank’s Red Hot sauce and topped it with some sea salt & Penzey’s spices black pepper and mural of flavor.

breakfast burrito

breakfast burrito and coffee

I watched the Today show while eating breakfast and then got bored with that, so I read My Spiritual Journey.

My Spiritual Journey by The Dalai Lama

I am about 70 pages in and I love it so far. His story is so interesting and his positive thoughts are inspirational. I read about 30 pages before bed last night and I kept telling Craig cool pieces of information. One of my favorite quotes so far was this, “…every new obstacle will be regarded as a good opportunity to improve our state of mind!” I definitely need to keep this quote in mind when I come across an obstacle.

I let my tummy settle from breakfast and then I headed to the Y. It was packed there. I completed 25 minutes on the elliptical while watching House Hunters international on HGTV. Then, I did the rowing machine for 6 minutes and almost lifted a full circuit of weights. It was so crowded that I couldn’t get on one last machine because there was a line. Oh well!

I recovered with a berry and banana smoothie with a scoop of soy flavorless protein powder.

berry smoothie with protein powder

Lunch was a yummy salad filled with spinach, baby carrots, Irish cheddar cheese chunks, tomatoes, red sweet peppers and broccoli. I topped it with Penzey’s Garden Salad and Trader Joe’s greek feta dressing.

salad-lunch on 12-31-10

I was still hungry, so I had a little bowl of Stonyfield Oikos plain non-fat greek yogurt with sliced almonds and honey.

Stonyfield Oikos greek plain non-fat yogurt, almonds and honey

Time to put some makeup on and run errands to Target & Kohl’s.

Have a good New Year’s eve everyone!

Leave a Reply

