Baked Stuffed Shells

I can’t believe the weekend is over already! With working four hours today, my weekend and day flew by.

Yesterday, we got home from the grocery store, I finished the Dalai Lama book (yay one book read for my 2011 goal of reading more books) and then we got to work on the Baked Stuffed Shells recipe from Terry Walters’ Clean Food. A couple of months ago, I asked Ms. Walters if I could review one of her books and recipes on my blog and she generously sent me both Clean Food and Clean Start.

Clean Food by Terry Walters

Our oven didn’t work for a while and I finally had time to tackle a more challenging recipe like this one.

Baked Stuffed Shells recipe

Clean Food by Terry Walters

Here is the filling for the shells–tofu, kale, onions, garlic, topped with ground pepper and a bit of sea salt. I didn’t use the mirin the recipe called for because our grocery store didn’t carry it in the Asian food isle.

prep for Baked Stuffed Shells

All done! The time we spent making the recipe was worth it. I really loved the tofu instead of meat.

Baked Stuffed Shells from Clean Food

Baked Stuffed Shells

I had some two buck chuck with my meal. I went back for seconds of the Baked Stuffed Shells and so did Craig.

wine & baked stuffed shells from Clean Food

Dessert was a bit of Kemp’s Fudge Crunch bar ice cream. Craig and I are addicted to this flavor!

Kemp's ice cream

Breakfast today were two halves of different flavors of Panera bagels–half of the jalapeno cheddar flavor and half of the chocolate chip. I went there on one of my errands yesterday. Picked these up and signed up for MyPanera. I used to work at Einstein’s bagels when I was in high school and I still love an occasional flavored bagel from a specialty store.

Panera bagels & coffee

I tried a new Philly cream cheese flavor on my jalapeno cheddar bagel–spinach and artichoke. It was really good.

Philadelphia cream cheese spinach & artichoke

Before I headed to the gym, I snacked on some Stonyfield Blueberry yogurt with fresh blueberries on top.

blueberry yogurt with fresh blueberries

At the gym, I biked for 18 minutes while reading Health magazine, ran and walked on the treadmill for 20 minutes and lifted weights on my legs. My time was limited, so I had to stop there.

I ran home, showered and ate the Baked Stuffed Shells for lunch. Then it was time to go to work for four hours. It helped that my husband came with me because I had a free ticket to something new for him to see at my work.

On the way home from work, I was craving Cousin’s Subs and we were a block away from one, so we couldn’t resist the temptation. We both got their southwest ham and cheddar sub on jalapeno cheddar (apparently, I am really into jalapenos today).

cousin's subs--southwest ham and cheddar

Well this is a long winded post, so I’ll call it quits there. Hope you had a good weekend!

5 responses to “Baked Stuffed Shells

  1. This weekend DID go by super fast!!
    Great job of the shells! 🙂

  2. I was just reading about that cookbook–do you like it so far and think it’s a good one? I’ve never made stuffed shells before but it’s on my list of must try’s,can’t be that hard right?

    I haven’t seen that cream cheese flavor—gah—must find soon!

    • I love it and Clean Start. I like the seasonality of Clean Food and the details about organic food, certain ingredients and more that she covers in the beginning. The recipes do have some different ingredients, but I am sure you can find some of them in Whole Foods and other specialty grocery stores. They all look so delicious and healthy! I’ll definitely be making more recipes and posting the results soon.

      The stuffed shells were not that hard to make. It helped to have someone else helping a bit, as the filling was a little complicated to make with pressing the tofu, etc.

      The cream cheese is delish. I saw it on Peanut Butter Fingers this week and had to try it because I love spinach & artichoke dip!

  3. Chelsea @ Strawberry Sweat

    Those stuffed shells look delicious!! From what you wrote, it looks like they tasted delicious too 🙂

Leave a Reply

