Header help!

See how funny my header looks? I have been trying to use Picnik to create a header for my blog and upload it to wordpress. The required size for my theme is 900 x 180 or something like that. I create the header as 500 x 180 in Picnik to keep the dimensions correct. Look how fuzzy it uploads and it won’t let me upload the whole header I created. After I upload the picture to wordpress’s header page, it takes me to a page where I have to crop it. See image below.

The width is correct, but it forces me to crop part of the image (the top and bottom) so it looks weird like this example header. Even at 200 x 90, it still wanted me to crop it.

Argh!ย It’s frustrating. Anyone have tips?

8 responses to “Header help!

  1. Did you remove it? I don’t see anything? Let me know how it works out though, I was going to look into Picnik!

  2. You have to create it in 900×180 or it will make you crop it. You are keeping the 180 dimension correct, but not the ratio. That is why it is making you crop it in half. It wants the 900×180 ration not the 500×180 one. Does that make sense?

    What is stopping you from creating it at 900?

    If you want to email me my email is kimilax@yahoo.com ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. Hooray! Thanks to kilax I fixed it. ๐Ÿ™‚ For some reason, I thought you had to check the use percentages or keep proportions.

    I would definitely recommend Picnik for an easy way to create a header, as long as you know the above advice from kilax!

    I may change the header I have now, but it fits my personality with the lovely teal color and the images of Swiss Berry Oatmeal, biking and just being happy with my hubby.

  4. I am going to look into this—it looks fabulous!!! I am starring this post so I can remember her comment when its time to work on mine ๐Ÿ™‚

  5. Hooray I added mine–I will probably tweak it down the road but I’m stoked I actually did it—thanks for the tips!

  6. I need a new header, thanks for the tips!!!

Leave a Reply

